We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it here :-D” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Virginia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Virginia
Ranked #134 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love it here :-D”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I come here every year with my grandad and grandma and have made lots of friends from the hotel Christine is a good cook and tony is funny , the entertainment and trips out are good too . The staff will help you with anything nothins to much trouble , I look forward to coming to Torquay For the reasons Above definatly come agin and again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lukealan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    4
    4
    12
See reviews for
12
15
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This place is great i have stayed here every year since 1998 my parents holiday here 3/4 times a year tony christine and family have welcomed us since day dot on that coach , the staff are excellent amd cant do enough for you ! Definate recomended stay just look in the guest book and you will see many of the names that re appear . As for value of money u cannot fault what u get x

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gem7307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The curtain in my room had almost fallen off the runners. Headboard slotted behind bed not attached to anything. Bathroom sink and fittings loose, toilet seat chipped all around, If you showered there would be a flood. The portable t.v. hard to work out how to use it. Towels only changed Wednesday. The owners had gone away and left other staff to do meals. Over 1 week we had ( tinned peas every night, tinned carrots 4 times ) There was fish every night or 1 other meal to choose from. One day our choice was either fish or sausage for evening meal. A friendly place but badly needs refurbishing throughout. Two lots of people left 1st night. One room upstairs doesn't have a bathroom or toilet you have to go along the corridor for one. My bedroom carpet was badly frayed. Too many wires and plugs from 1 main source. Won't be recommended by me. Only bad reviews.

Room Tip: 2 floors and no lift if you are not fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mavis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed here on a recent drinking weekend with the lads ideal hotel for this. I stayed in a single room which was cosy to say the least however it did contain and fully functioning television. Decent fry up in the morning, good bar and friendly hosts

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dn59tcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

A group of 43 of us, various ages, spent 2 nights here. We were charged £55 for 2nights half board with entertainment both nights. this price included coach return to southampton. the hotel itself is need of major renovation. Having said that, if the owner did, then prices would have to rise to cover this, and then they would be competing for trade. the hotel, although as stated, is very clean, sheets were changed, rooms cleaned both days, some rooms are very small, but you only sleep in them anyway. And.... the entetainment was good, the food was good, the staff can't do enough for you. So if anyone reading this wants to take a large group for a cheap enjoyable break, then this is the place for you. many thanks to tony, christine, mick and julie. for giving us an enjoyable break.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank evej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.2 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#32 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#65 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.5 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Regina Hotel
The Regina Hotel
#61 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#106 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virginia

Property: Hotel Virginia
Address: Hotel Virginia Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Also Known As:
Hotel Virginia Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing