We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Torquay
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveler rating
634
57
13
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
634
57
13
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews decanter of sherry private terrace cooked breakfast fresh milk and water deluxe room cold meats high standard lovely hotel boutique hotel small hotel fantastic stay second to none breakfast was amazing full english coastal path warm welcome first class
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 706 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from the Meadfoot Bay Hotel after a 2 night stay. The friendly staff who welcomed us upon arrival were very helpful and polite. The hotel itself Is very nice with newly refurbished rooms, a nice relaxing bar area and an excellent brasserie for breakfast and dinner. The food is top notch. The breakfast has plenty to choose from, all made from fresh local ingredients. It is one of the best breakfasts we have had in any hotel or B+B. The brasserie was also superb food with a nice varied menu. The rooms are delightful with super comfortable beds, nice modern bathroom and lovely decor throughout. The location is ideal a nice 10 minute stroll into the town centre and a short 5 minute stroll to the beach in the other direction. We highly recommend this beautiful boutique B+B. We will be returning to the Meadfoot Bay Hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Walkaboutagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception M, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Dear walkaboutagains

If we had written this review ourselves we probably would have toned it down as it sounds to good to be true! But we'll take every word you've written, bask a little in the glory, then get on with job of making sure the next guest feels the same. And then the next. And the next.

Thank you once again for your kindness. It really does mean the world to each and every member of the team and puts an extra spring in your step on a Monday morning!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from us all at Meadfoot Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019 via mobile

Stayed at the Meadfoot Bay for a few nights’ absolutely lovely place with great service. Very helpful and definitely will be back
Staff makes you feel at home.
Thanks for a great time and see you soon.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank craigaF2691VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019 via mobile

Hotel as all been refurbished looks amazing. We got there late Wednesday night and Lewis made us very welcome and also supplied food and drink for when we arrived. He couldn’t do enough for us. Our room was amazing and clean and lovely bathroom. Breakfast following morning was lovely. Would definitely recommend and would definitely use again when visiting Torquay

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MaxineJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night, we booked directly with the hotel, it was very straightforward. The gentleman who helped us with the booking was very polite. When we got there, they told us they’d give us the junior suite room. The hotel locations good, you don’t get the sea view but it is a very short walk to the seaside. It’s newly decorated and looks nice and fresh, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. The breakfast was “fantastic”. My wife had the egg benedict and I had the avocado and eggs both were very tasty.
We would definitely choose to stay here if we go to Torquay again

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Subzero33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2019 via mobile

Feeling like a short break not too far from home we browsed the various Hotels in and around Torquay and the Bay stood out for the number and high approval rate of former guests.
It soon became obvious why. On arrival We were welcomed warmly and given a drink of our choice before being shown to our room.
Our room (21) was large, well furnished and with a big bed. The bathroom was large and well appointed and there were thoughtful 'extra' touches everywhere which for me along with other things puts this in a different league than the big franchise hotels.
The lounges were very comfortable and the whole decor and the ambience, including the choice of background music was entirely to our taste. Service was excellent and it felt like being a guest at a friends house.
The breakfast is the most important meal of the day for me and it was first class with good quality ingredients well cooked to order. We had dinner there on our first night and we enjoyed that too.
In short we really enjoyed our stay and came away feeling relaxed and happy.
We will certainly go again and I recommend others to do the same. You won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception M, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2019

Dear Robert

I think you've summed up very well the ethos here at the Bay. Creating a place that's like a home from home or indeed a friend's home! Relax. Kick back. Hole up with a book. Or settle in with good G&T. Come rain or shine we like to think the The Bay will always be thought of as a nice place to come home to.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you from every member of the team for your generous comments.

With best wishes from us all at the Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews