We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2008

On arrival we got no help with our bags and it is very difficult to park outside the hotel. The room had a very good layout with a separate room for the children and the views were good. However the bedroom and bathroom were not cleaned properly during our stay and we had to complain twice to have it cleaned correctly. The breakfast in the morning was more 3* as the buffet was missing certain items regularly or had a limited choice. The cooked breakfast we ordered had the wrong items brought to us. Service was very slow in the restaurant. The attention detail seems to be missing too such as there were a alarming amount of typos on bar menu and dead flowers in the restaurant for at least two days. We mentioned these complaints along with the state of the bedroom to the Duty Manager and I would have expected the Hotel Manager to contact us but he didn't. The staff were friendly but lacked the leadership and training I would expect from a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bidborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 609 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2008

Booked a long weekend over the Bank Holiday and had a wonderful stay. the location is simply stunning - the staff are helpful and dedicated. The rooms are well furnished and not at all stuffy - one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in (sea view room on 3rd floor).

Booking (via email) was simple and efficent and I was offered various options re room choices.

Dinner in the restaurant each evening was relaxed and beautifully cooked and of a very high standard - again the staff re attentive and helpful.

Very much looking forward to another stay in the autumn - will upgarde to a sea view suite next time which I am sure will be well worth the extra small charge.

We really felt part of a family and it is so refreshing to stay in an individual non corporate hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2008

Came down to Torquay to visit famiily.The whole family had dinner at the Osborne, the staff were very accomodating, catering for both adults and children. The food was simple and tasty but well prepared, the children were looked after really well. Service was wonderful and with that kind of settling we couldnt believe that we were able to get a table on a Friday evening. Overall I would highly recommed this to both couples and famillies alike.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank RHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We had the chance of a last minute break however as the weather was doubtful we wanted a hotel within walking distance of the town, near the sea and with a gym and indoor heated pool. We narrowed it down to The Grand, Imperial and Osborne. The Osborne seemed to be on the nicer side of town and I telephoned to let them know we would be arriving late and to confirm the facilities they had available.

What they didn't mention was the fact that the lower road into Torquay was closed off so when we arrived in the dark it took 40 minutes to find the hotel as the diversion signs were awful. When we mentioned it to the hotel they agreed the signposting was poor so it would have been nice to be told rather than find out at the end of a 2 1/2 hour drive.

Main moan is that the heating for the pool was faulty so it was too cold to use. The hotel told me it was intermittent however a gym club member said the pool had been like it for 3 weeks. When I suggested to the hotel that we needed to negotiate a discount they said they felt it didn't warrant it and the manager relayed the message via the receptionist and couldn't be bothered to come out of his office.

From a practical point of view be aware that the town is 15 to 20 minutes very hilly walk away and the extensive grounds claim doesn't really apply to the rooms at the back of the hotel, which were the only ones available, as they have a view of the car park.

With hindsight we should have chosen the Imperial as it has a fantastic location and is a short walk to the town. Hopefully this review will avoid others making the same mistake.

Real shame that a bit of a compromise on the room rate and mention of diversions when we booked would have avoided me posting this poor review.

Come on guys. you are in the customer service industry and off season is the time you should be putting yourselves out for guests.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NLoveUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

A grand exterior but rather tired inside, staff were preoccupied, rude and arrogant with a special mention for Lionel (Sorry, Leeonel), we visited with the intention of checking out the place whilst looking for a wedding venue, after our experience, NO CHANCE, staff could not even be bothered to spend 2 minutes answering a couple of questions... Courtesy and hospitality are most definately not their forte! Very dissapointing. And most definately not recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TalenWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osbohotel, Food & Beverage Manager at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2008

Comments made do not represent what actually happened and reference by name to an individual who is said to have been rude, arrogant and unhelpfull is unjustified especially when the person named never met the couple placing the review.
The couple concerned casually came on New Years Eve without having made any prior appointment or phone call and were met by a member of our reception team who politely advised them that the hotel wedding advisor was unable to see them then and there owing to being involved in organising the hotel's New Years Eve celebrations. The couple were given an option of an appointment to return and see the relevant person concerned and were offered a wedding information pack to take away. Sadly they did not like this and walked off. The comments made are totally unjustified and are clearly aimed at being spiteful instead of being an honest opinion.
The Hotel prides itself on first class customer service at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

This Hotel is just lovely.

I have stayed at the Grand previously which is nice, but I thought I'd try The Osborne. Right from booking on the phone to leaving the hotel, the staff were very attentive and helpful.

The room had recently been re-furnished in neutral colours, had a beautiful view of the Sea, balcony and Plasma TV.

Breakfast was good, I can't really fault it. I'll be returning when I'm back in Torquay.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chandlerbing-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

The Osborne is a 32 room hotel set in the middle of a lovely regency terrace overlooking Meadfoot Bay in one of the most upmarket areas of Torquay. .The rest of the terrace is composed of timeshare apartments whose owners may also use the hotel’s leisure facilities.

The hotel gardens slope steeply down giving superb views of the sheltered Bay. Meadfoot beach is an easy walk down but a stiffer climb back up. And Torquay town centre is a similarly invigorating 15 minute climb up and down .

The leisure facilities are fine with an outdoor and indoor pool, a pitch and putt course, outdoor table tennis table and one outdoor tennis court. We went in late October and it was not crowded but in high season the facilities will probably be swamped with myriads of leisuring timesharers.

The rooms are disappointing .The hotel is an amalgam of 3 or 4 regency town houses, so the inside is all twisting dark corridors with little steps up and down,. And our room had only one smallish high up window so had little external light. It was not sea facing but was quite big enough .However it had only two very single beds. And heavy dark old fashioned rather than antique furniture. It was not shabby ; just a bit dismal. There was no air conditioning, indeed not even a room thermostat, no duvets, no decent clothes hangars in the wardrobe, , no flat screen TV, no feather pillows.The bathroom was large and everything looked old but worked. However it had only a small towel rail to heat it, so it would probably be pretty cold in winter.

The hotel pushes its signature restaurant Langtrys , hard. But judging by breakfast which is all we ate there, it is probably best avoided. A hotel of this price bracket really should not serve tinned fruit for breakfast and should have at least some cold option for those whose veins will not stand yet more early morning cholesterol.

The public rooms seem smaller than they probably are because of the heavy leather furniture which fills them. And the heating has to be experienced to be believed. The hotel is kept at a steady Singapore temperature- not I think through any deference to possible SE Asian guests but rather due to deference to the thinness of the blood of the majority of its aging residents.


All in all the Osborne is not a bad hotel. The hotel staff were unfailingly helpful and cheerful. It would have been fine for £60 or so a night. But we had to pay more than double this. And that is not good value. Even for the UK and even for Torquay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roger39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,239 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,576 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
671 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Address: Hesketh Crescent | Meadfoot ,south Devon, Torquay TQ1 2LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#13 Business Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $84 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Osborne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wonderful views across Tor Bay, The Osborne Hotel has a modern health club, an outdoor pool and leafy sun terrace. The hotel is set in 6 acres of grounds that lead to Meadfoot Beach.The elegant bedrooms are individually decorated, and all have free Wi-Fi access and tea/coffee facilities with free mineral water. All rooms have a private bathroom and a cosy seating area.Hesketh’s Health and Fitness Centre features an indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gym and tennis courts. Guests can relax in the sauna, or on the spacious poolside terraces.Langtry’s Restaurant has impressive bay views, and serves modern British cuisine and fine wines. There is also a informal continental-style brasserie, offering fresh coffees and afternoon teas.In the heart of the English Riviera, Osborne Hotel is a 15-minute stroll from the picturesque Torquay Marina. Free on-site parking is available, and Torquay Railway Station is just 1 and a half miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Torquay
The Osborne Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing