We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as we expected !”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #26 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The superb location, we had a superb sea view from our room ! The brasserie was also very good. The friendliness of the staff was obvious.

Rather tired furnishings in our room (# 326).

The large amount of pre-school aged children in the heated, outdoor pool, was annoying ! We presumed, that with the mid July booking, and the daily hotel rate, it would have precluded families with noisy, toddlers. We were unaware of the adjacent holiday flats who also shared the outdoor pool facilities. Perhaps more transparency on the part of the hotel management, should reflect this fact !

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and pay the extra !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dickie-Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 586 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the weekend for our anniversary. Pulling up to the hotel the views were absolutely stunning and we were not disappointed. As someone else has said it reminded me of the Royal Crescent in Bath.

Our room was inland facing and the furnishing was fantastic. We used the outdoor heated pool which was brilliant as we were treated with amazing weather.

Breakfast was also lovely.

I have to say there is nothing I could fault about this hotel, the staff or the service. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cleavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Having seen some amazing views all around the world, this has to be the best.

The hotel is nothing that you would expect to find overlooking the sea. It would be more appropriate next to the Royal Crescent in Bath - it is that type of building.

Appearances in this case are everything. The sun, sea and view are fantastic. Add to this the feeling of being in the Mediterranean, eating outdoors on a large sun terrace where the tables are intermittently spaced so you can have your own conversation without listening to everyone else, and being overheard by all and sundry.

The food was great - inexpensive, not cheap. The staff friendly and attentive, but discreet.

The restaurant in the evening was as equally impressive - busy, but comfortable. The staff are obviously accustomed to dealing with large numbers of diners. I couldn't fault their friendliness, efficiency and professionalism.

Our room, with a balcony and overlooking the sea was spotlessly clean and comfortably furnished. The upgrade to a suite with a balcony was definitely value for money - I would have paid far more abroad, without the style and comfort I experienced here.

Why go abroad when you have such a delightful hotel here.

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so welcome and enjoyable - we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clive1595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

What a beautiful place to spend a absolutly glorious week in the sunshine. Because we had such beautiful weather, everything was just perfect. The setting of the hotel is beautiful. Absolutely georgous views of the sea and Brixham from the hotel. Such a very, very impressive building. We stayed in one of the timeshare appartments, which was lovely. On the top floor, so the views were magnificent. The appartment was well equipped, and such a lovely layout. We did not eat in the hotel, we went in to Torquay for all our evening meals. The breakfast in the hotel was a bit pricey, £11.50 for a full english. The only slight downside for us, was the fact that it was such a big hill to climb to get in to Torquay. So most nights we had a Taxi (around £5.00). We did walk it a couple of times, taking around about 10 mins. Not such a distance really, but having had such nice weather, it was quite hot to walk. The pool at the hotel was lovely, and we spent most of our time sunbathing there. As we were self catering in the appartment, it was brilliant because we did our sandwiches for lunch and a cool bag full of wine, beer and cider, and had our lunch by the swimming pool every day excrept one. The pool staff were very good and efficient, helping you with your sun beds and always willing to help. Meadifoot beach was just down a path from the hotel. There was a beach cafe there, prices were quite reasonable. What really makes this hotel is the beautiful panoramic views of the sea and surrounding coastal areas, which we could take full advantage of as the weather was so beautiful. The only food we had at the hotel was the deserts. Which were very good. The terrace bar was very comfortable, and again the views were brilliant as you were sitting sipping your glass of wine. So all, in all, a lovely break, but the hot weather certainly made the holiday, and this hotel had the facilities to make sure you enjoyed it. I would recommend it as a place to stay (from a self-catering point of view), and the only slight downside was the up-hill trek in to Toquay, or paying the cost of a taxi.

Room Tip: Any room on the front would be good... but the higher the floor, the better the view I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BrendaJeanJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I were due to stay at an 1 bed RCI timeshare in Devon and the day before RCI informed us it was overbooked. They offered a 2 bed unit at the Osborne Club Hotel as an alternative. The reviews for the Osborne club are mixed so we were afraid a last minute booking would be a less desirable back room. In fact we had a very nice ground floor unit at the front of the hotel - it looked recently totally refurbished - super big lounge, a small fully equiped kitchen, 2 big bedrooms and bathroom/toilet. The outlook from the lounge was wonderfull - a panoramic view across Torquay bay. Free WiFi in the room was a nice extra. We spent all our time away from the hotel visiting the many National Trust and English Heritage sites within easy driving distance, but the resort facilities looked nice enough - outdoor, indoor pools, spacious terrace and terrace bar under canvass, lawns and gardens slooping done to the beach road far below. Parking was tight but always a space somewhere. We ate at the Hotel brasserie restaurant one evening and were disappointed - we expected chef prepared options but looked like the main items were from the freezer. Essential to use Sat Nav with great care in Devon and Cornwall - know where the main roads are otherwise you will be sent down very narrow country lanes with few passing points - be ready to backup 100s of yards. The other warrning is the topography - Torquay and many of the coastal towns in Devon are very hilly and tough for walking.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel - to overlook the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awjdoctortony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We can relate to the earlier review hilighting where it could be so much better, especially he reception and bar area, the latter is such a waste of space....the last time we stayed it was competely empty, as it was this time.

That said I think our one night away was reasonable value for money. £119 bed and breakfast, or £159 with dinner for both of us. The last time we stayed here a few years ago, the dinner was great, some opted for the latter.

Dinner was ok, the risotto starters very pleasant in particular. Mains were ok but nothing special. But it was the desserts that really let the side down: a trio of mini raspberry desserts and a mango cheesecake. The 'trio' was absolutely and utterly tasteless, if you did a blind tasting I defy anyone to identify what they were meant to be. They looked white pretty, but we're obviously bought in, because there is no way a chef cold have tasted them and still served them. Tasteless and synthetic, we obviously left them. And the mango cheesecake was marginally better. Even then I was surprised to see only 2 other couples left in the restaurant @ 21.15 on a Saturday night.

Service was friendly in the main, although on the terrace we did have trouble being understood, and had to repeat our request several times.

Room seemed to have been recently refurbished, clean and pleasant enough, it could have been a room in any modern hilton, best western or similar chain. Disappointed that a 4 star hotel only had polyester pillows......"we don't do feather pillows" was the response from reception.

Breakfast ok, ingredients of rather a poor quality. I have to compare my last stay in a hotel where for £99 B&B, the room was chic and contemporary, and the breakfast first class, all sourced from renowned farm shops. And the dinner was fabulous.

The terrace and front aspect of the hotel, with pool, is lovely, especially on a warm and sunny day. All in all we were happy to have 24hrs to ourselves whilst nanna and grandad babysat at home, so it would have taken a lot more than a hotel that essentially just needs some thought and investment to make it special. But it could be fabulous, maybe it was once.

Would we stay again? We'd probably try somewhere else, taxi driver recommended 'linkin park' (sp?) just up the road.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARKDL995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

another great stay for us all. super food, lovely swimming pools, fantastic views and first class service. the only downside is we don't want to leave. I big thank you to Carlos for his help and advice on our day trips, packed lunches and his care and attention. :).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
509 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
896 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 86 in Torquay
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Address: Hesketh Crescent | Meadfoot ,south Devon, Torquay TQ1 2LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#13 Business Hotel in Torquay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $82 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Osborne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wonderful views across Tor Bay, The Osborne Hotel has a modern health club, an outdoor pool and leafy sun terrace. The hotel is set in 6 acres of grounds that lead to Meadfoot Beach.The elegant bedrooms are individually decorated, and all have free Wi-Fi access and tea/coffee facilities with free mineral water. All rooms have a private bathroom and a cosy seating area.Hesketh’s Health and Fitness Centre features an indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gym and tennis courts. Guests can relax in the sauna, or on the spacious poolside terraces.Langtry’s Restaurant has impressive bay views, and serves modern British cuisine and fine wines. There is also a informal continental-style brasserie, offering fresh coffees and afternoon teas.In the heart of the English Riviera, Osborne Hotel is a 15-minute stroll from the picturesque Torquay Marina. Free on-site parking is available, and Torquay Railway Station is just 1 and a half miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Torquay
The Osborne Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing