We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
69
3
1
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
3
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kippers own private patio full english yogurt on arrival cooked breakfast stayed here for nights train station places to visit tea and coffee facilities b and b every morning dvds jo landlady tv ensuite
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 76 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I would recommend Arran Lodge to anyone. Jo will always walk the extra mile to make things great for you - she even produced vegetarian sausages at the drop of a hat! The first floor single ensuite was spotless and very comfortable.
I came to attend a Toastmasters Conference and Speech Contest at the Riviera Centre and left a prize winner. So if you are going to Torquay and want to be a winner stay here! All the best from AndrewB

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonAndrewB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneWoolman, Owner at Arran Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for your review Andrew. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Arran Lodge, and great to know you were a prize winner. Hope to see you again in the future either on your own or possibly with your family, as you said you would like to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you need a b&b in Torquay we absolutely recommend arran lodge.jo & mike are great.
Very relaxing stay,rooms clean & tidy,food is the best breakfast ever.we got the train to Paignton which took about 8 mins to arrive then took the steam train to Dartmouth jumped on the ferry across the water to spend sone time looking around the town.a nice trip to take.you can also get the bus just around the corner to,which will take you to Torquay or Paignton.

Thank you for a nice stay in Torquay.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneWoolman, Owner at Arran Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for your review Melvin. Great to know all 4 of you enjoyed your stay at Arran Lodge, and that you will come back for a 4th visit and see more changes to Arran Lodge for the better as we get to finnish our program of refurbishment. It is great to have positive feed back especially on our breakfast which is something that we pride ourselves on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights & it was an incredible stay. Cannot fault service, local knowledge, food, cleanliness, food, friendliness & FOOD!!! Awesome place with awesome staff. Will definately be stating here again in the summer

Date of stay: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sc0tt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneWoolman, Owner at Arran Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your review Scott. We enjoyed having you and Hayley come and stay with us. Happy to know you had a good stay at Arran Lodge, and enjoyed getting out and about on the english riviera in the lovely sunshine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I wanted to treat ourselves and our 2 year old daughter to a trip away for this Easter weekend, and from a recommendation from a family friend stayed at the Arran Lodge in Torquay. We weren't expecting to be laying on the beach after looking at the Easter weather forecast this year but it ended up being gloriously sunny for most of the weekend! We loved every minute of our stay at the Arran Lodge, we checked into the downstairs family room to find complimentary easter eggs in our room- such a lovely touch. Just after we checked in, Jo made us a nice hot pot of tea and toasted hot cross buns, gave our daughter an Easter colouring sheet, and made us feel right at home. Our room was lovely and spotlessly clean, really comfy beds and a nice little private outdoor patio. Despite the cold weather, we had a fantastic weekend exploring Torquay and we are already planning to come back in the summer.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneWoolman, Owner at Arran Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your review Katy. Happy to hear you had a lovely easter exploring Torquay and that you had a good stay with us. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Me and my fiance, and 2 of our close friends (another couple) decided to do something special for Valentine's this year and so travelled from Cardiff to spend the weekend in Torquay. We decided to stay at the Arran Lodge due to its great reviews and it didn't disappoint! We stayed in the new inter-connecting rooms, which were decorated lovely and had really comfortable kingsize beds and beautiful modern shower rooms with huge showers- these rooms would definitely be perfect for a family with children or for a group of friends. The boys decided to surprise us with the 'Champagne Package' and there was a bottle of champagne, strawberries, chocolates and rose petals waiting for us in our room when we arrived, a lovely surprise! Jo made us a lovely valentines breakfast each morning and decorated the breakfast room with rose petals and valentines decorations. She also recommended some lovely restaurants for us to go to. I would absolutely recommend staying here, they definitely went all out to make the occasion as special as possible for us!

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneWoolman, Owner at Arran Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your review Sharon. Happy to hear you had a great weekend in Torquay. I hope you are all still planning a return visit in the summer months. I will look forward to a call from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews