We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, really friendly owners, great single room!”
Review of Arran Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arran Lodge
Ranked #108 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed at the Arran Lodge with 2 of my work mates for 4 weeks in January 2013 whilst working as a contractor in Torquay. I'm constantly staying in hotels and B&Bs around the country through work and this one has been by far the best. I never normally write reviews but felt that this truly deserved a mention. Jo and Mick made us feel right at home for the whole time we were there. The rooms were nicely decorated, and were always warm when we got back from work, which was great when we were working outside in the freezing cold all day! Jo and Mick were really friendly and gave us great recommendations on where to get cheap, hearty food and a good pint in the local area. If we ever get work in the area again, we'll be sure to be back, or I may even treat the missus to a stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneWoolman, Owner at Arran Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your review Steve. It was great having you and your work mates stay here and pleased to know you were happy not only with the room only rate we gave you, but your overall stay . In the 5 years we have been here we have had quite a few contractors stay with us for longer periods over the winter months and is always welcomed as it keeps us going especially has it would be very quiet at this time otherwise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 73 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have just returned from a wonderful 5 night stay at Arran Lodge, with my husband and our 18 month daughter.
The guest house is immaculate and very well decorated, with a lovely home like feel. The owner and her husband ensured we had everything we needed and were very accommodating with my daughter. They advised us of where to go and recommended good restaurants and activities for my little one and they truly made us have a fabulous holiday.
Our room was very spacious, even with a cot in it and we had our own private patio area. There was even a flat screen tv with a good selection of new release DVDs!
Breakfast was delicious - fresh fruit, cereals and a cooked breakfast, made exactly how you wanted it. The room was cleaned every day and the tea tray was re stocked with yummy biscuits.
There's lots to see and do in Torquay and the beach is only a 5 minute walk away. My only wish is that we could have stayed longer, we will definitely be back soon. I would strongly recommend this guest house and guarantee you will have an excellent stay.
L Wallis.






  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisleewallis111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for three nights and we had the most wonderful stay. The room we stayed in was exrememly spacious and had it's own patio area, which was a lovely touch! The room was cleaned everyday and we had such a welcoming stay. The owners are very friendly and nothing seems too much to make your stay an enjoyable experience. We were so happy that we chose this B&B as we have stayed in Torquay before but our stay was nowhere near to this standard. Torquay town is a nice 5 minute walk from the guest house and is very easy to get to. We can't wait to return here next year for another perfect stay from extremely welcoming hosts, who offer the best breakfast around!. Thank you very much Jo, we will definitely see you again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjnjhowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at this B&B recently for a long weekend. We could not have wished for better. Jo the owner is very kind and offers a friendly personal service. The room was fantastic, clean, fresh and homely. The breakfast each morning started our day off perfectly consisting of anything you wanted from cereal, toast, fresh fruit, yoghurt and a full english. Brilliant time whilst we stayed there and would most certainly return next time we want to go to Torquay. You will not go wrong with your stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneWoolman, Owner at Arran Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for your great review. It was lovely to meet you both and will look forward to being of service to you both in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just returned from our holiday at Torquay and we stayed at the Arran Lodge B&B. Having stayed at couple of B&Bs, i must admit, this was the best one ever! First of all, the location is great, just 3 mins from Torre station and couple of mins away from the coach station, 10 mins walk from the Torquar harbour. The owner is one of the sweetest people I've come across, she picked us up from the Torquay coach station and we had a lovely welcome with hot coffee (much needed one!) and yummy home baked cakes. She even allowed us to select our rooms, which was confusing because they were all very clean and immaculate and simply perfect. The bed was the most comfortable one ever! the sheets were spot on and the everything in the room was very clean, just made my whole trip really. Our room had a flat screen (incl. over 15 titles of dvds!), ironing and hair drying facilities, lovely towels, and everything was well thought through (it even had cotton balls, nail clippers and safety pins!). we were daily served a perfect breakfast (i am very fussy with food, and Jo was very understanding and got me exactly what i wanted). Our rooms were cleaned everyday and it was the most refreshing thing after a long day of exploring Torquay. We never had any issues getting places as the location was perfect and close to bus stops. I loved every minute of my stay at Arran Lodge and will definitely be going back again. We were dropped back to the coach station after our break and i really wished I could have stayed longer. I simply cannot find any fault with my stay here , thanks Jo for making our much deserved holiday a perfect one. We will be back shortly...

Sumy

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

the second year we have stopped here and we was not disapointed comfortable room very good food and a very hospitable friendly proprieter plus the conveniance of the location all adds up to a very pleasing break we will certainly go again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Just returned from a couple of days at Torquay we stayed at the ARRAN LODGE B & B very reccomended we had a lovely welcome from JO on arrival with a pot of tea cakes and biscuits never experienced that at a b&b then she showed us to our rooms they were stunning spotlessly clean and bang up to date with the decor and beautiful crisp clean bedding and snow white towels and everything from tea making facilities to a flat screen tv and dvd,s Then breakfast was great with the choice of full english which was gorgeous there was also a choice of salmon or kippers with poached eggs fresh fruit yoghurts and cake was also available Jo also reccomended places to go for evenings out all in all this has too be the best b&b we have stayed in and will certainly reccomend it to anyone Thanks Jo for a lovely couple of days from Pam Mike Sandra andJOHN

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAMELA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 85 in Torquay
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#54 of 149 in Torquay
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#26 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arran Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran Lodge

Address: 97 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $73 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arran Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael and Joanne assure you of a warm welcome at the Arran Lodge Guest House in Torquay. We are the resident owners of the Arran Lodge and have been working hard over the last 5 years refurbishing the guest house to make your stay a more pleasant and comfortable one, whether you are coming to Torquay through work or pleasure. We are looking forward to welcoming previous guests as well as new ones. The Arran Lodge Guest House is situated only a short level walk from the seafront, English Riviera Conference and Leisure Centre, Princess Theatre, Harbour and Torquay town centre. You can visit the Torquay seafront via Torre Abbey and its beautiful gardens. The Arran Lodge Guest House is open all year. It is centrally heated throughout and offers 6 lovely en-suite bedrooms accommodating up to 13 adults. At Arran Lodge, we take great care in the quality of our guests’ stay with us. After a short check-in, we’ll welcome you to sit back and relax whilst Jo makes a complimentary fresh pot of tea or coffee or if you prefer a cold soft drink with a sweet treat to help refresh you. Summertime breakfast at the Arran Lodge is a special treat. From 29th March-31st October guests are provided with a breakfast each morning of their stay. We offer fresh, high quality ingredients and have plenty for you to choose from our hot food menu. Arran Lodge boasts a modern but comfortable finish. Several rooms even have their own outside areas for relaxation. If you’d like to arrange something special before your arrival i.e. Flowers, Chocolates, Champagne, or book tickets to see a show etc, just give us a call and we will be more than happy to do this for you. WI-FI and car parking is available free of charge. We can also arrange a courtesy pick-up from Torquay train or coach station. WE WELCOME GROUP BOOKINGS BUT ONLY FOR SOLE USE OF THE HOUSE. PLEASE ONLY CALL/EMAIL TO BOOK IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO STAY IN A GROUP OF 5 OR MORE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Arran Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arran Lodge Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing