We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short trip for Agatha”
Review of Exton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Exton House
Ranked #59 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Short trip for Agatha”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

we stayed Saturday night so we could see the Agatha play at the theatre. We were met with a friendly welcome with a cup of tea, and a relaxed chat, very refreshing. We were made to feel very welcome and shown to our lovely en-suite room, with tea and coffee facilities, dressing table, and a flat screen tv. The room was spotless, and the bathroom and shower the same. I asked to borrow an iron board which was no problem at all. My future wife was woken at 3am by a pair of very very drunk loud pair who were outside the hotel. It need an ambulance and the police to sort them out, the owners of the Hotel handled the situation very well and they were not allowed back in to the hotel. In the morning the owners ensured we were ok and apologised for the other guests behaviour! which they didn't need to do, it was not there fault. We had an amazing breakfast, great selection of cooked and non cooked, more than you ever want. The now sober guests came back hurling more abuse at the owners, most undeserved, and again they handled it very we'll, still taken the time to ask us if we were ok and how our evening was. A brilliant pair of owners, no wonder the reviews are so good. I hope the drunken pair do not try and spoil a very good reputation. We will book again for next years agatha and try and stay longer with them...as a married couple. They even took money off our bill for the disturbance.

Room Tip: Sorry no swimming pool or fitness centre but it wouldn't come off once I pressed it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorchduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
66
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We went to the Exton House for our honeymoon. After 4 years of battling various health problems we got married again. We have never stayed in Torquay so it was a first for us. We arrived and immediately we realised that we were going to love it here. Very friendly couple who look after you so well. Following their recommendations we did so much and at great value. We had the rest we both needed and the break we had longed for in months. Thank you to them as we had a fantastic time. We hope to go back the only downside is the drive to get there. Would we recommend of definitely yes.. John and Julie work very hard to make your stay special. Even their daughter is part of a fab team
Just round the corner is some brilliant places to eat. We visited the indian and the pub.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for one night and we were made to feel at home. The room was spacious and spotless. The owners are friendly and we very professional. Great breakfast and if we were in the area again would be booking there.

Room Tip: Park on the road for larger car or moving a lot of suitcases 15 - 20 mins walk to harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rods776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a short break in September. Both John and Julie made us welcome upon arrival and all through our stay. The room was spotless and decorated tastefully. Breakfast is superb, great choice and excellent quality.. This is the best guest house that we have stayed in and would strongly recommend it. To sum up our stay is 1st class hospitality, cleanliness, and accommodation. The hosts have worked hard to achieve this standard and deserve credit for what they have achieved. In its class it is second to none.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed at Exton for the weekend. From the first minute we arrived, we were made to feel right at home. Room was spotless and very comfortable with everything you needed. Breakfast was faultless, with a great choice. John and Julie are a lovely couple and nothing is too much trouble. Wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Exton to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEAN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a weekend at the beginning of July. The owners could not have been more helpful; and friendly. The rooms were spotless, the guesthouse is so clean, including the crockery and cutlery at breakfast. I would strongly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 79Carolinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My Husband and I have just spent two days in this lovely hotel . Our hosts Julie and John made us feel very special form the moment we stepped through their door We were welcomed with refreshments in their lounge and gave us leaflets and suggestions of the best places to visit during our Stay. We felt as if we had known them for years a very nice couple nothing was too much trouble for them. I will be telling all my friends to visit Torquay and book in at the Exton, Our room was very comfortable and Clean. Breakfast was divine the choice was good for any tastes. Have a treat and visit Exton House you will not be disapointed. .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Newburgh Guesthouse
Newburgh Guesthouse
#94 of 149 in Torquay
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#104 of 149 in Torquay
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#60 of 149 in Torquay
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#12 of 149 in Torquay
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,759 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exton House

Property: Exton House
Address: 12 Bridge Road, Torquay TQ2 5BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Exton House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exton House is a family friendly bed and breakfast with a 4 star rating,we are located in a quiet area yet within easy walking to beach and town,cleanliness and hospitality are our priority.We offer clean,stylish en-suite rooms,free wi-fi,parking residents bar and freeview tv,breakfast included,we welcome couples and families,great base to explore torbay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Exton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exton Hotel Torquay
Exton House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing