We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great grub,brill beer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Coach House

The Old Coach House
Ranked #141 of 332 Restaurants in Torquay
Price range: $7 - $118
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
berwick-upon-tweed
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great grub,brill beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just back from a week in Babbacombe.Had booked b&b only so was on the lookout for a decent eating and watering hole.Came across this pub which from the outside looks a bit run down but appearances are very deceptive.In we go and the inside could well put people off,but don't let it.Ordered a pint of John Smiths which was nectar from the gods,and the young lady who served me,was very engaging,i now know her name is sophie.She is an absolute credit to the business,as are all the staff.Roast dinners plus a dessert started at £5.95 and I chose the lamb at £7.95.I love good old English grub,and barely 5minutes later it sat there in front of me succulent slices of Lamb, roast potatoes and a tray of vegetables,including cauli,carrots cabbage,peas and swede,and all this with a gravy to die for.I gave up on the dessert to full,but judging from the satisfied faces around me they looked good.None of this grub came from a frozen status,you can tell the minute it hits your palate.Later during the week I tried various dishes,all top quality,must mention the steak and mushroom pie,WOW.So now back home several pounds heavier,and much sadder,with my own efforts at cooking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gerald m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    38
    11
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"full tummys"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The food is excellent beautiful roast dinners that were piping hot and free desserts! all for between £6 and £9 what value.The staff are all lovely and polite, will recommend to everyone and will definitely return when we visit this area again. The only small negatives are the place and garden could do with being updated and please please redo your menus they look like something out of an old backstreet café lol

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 58madge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“big meal, small price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

this pub has a vast menu to chose from with excellent prices. the staff are lovely and helpfull and when the meal arrived it wasnt only really tasty, it was huge

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank janis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny wales
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“SUPERB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Couldn`t fault the Sunday lunch recently that my family of five thoroughly enjoyed..piping hot with 4 fresh vegetables (and not a frozen pea in sight) .. 4 thick slices of lamb for me with all the trimmimgs and various other meats for the others..and all with a dessert in with the price of £6-£7......excellant value... choice of bannoffee gateaux n cream or chocolate brownie, cream and icecreams...couldn`t have wished for more or eaten another thing... will definately return... mmmmm ...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblylady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Easy to overlook”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Old Coach House in Babbacombe is a large Pub / Restaurant just slightly away from the main establishments on The Downs.

This is where we now always eat when visiting Babbacombe, before going to the Theatre (just "round the corner")

It is very easy to overlook The Old Coach House since, whilst more than inviting from the outside, inside is rather tired and shabby (and more than just a hint of old fashioned).

BUT, do not let this put you off! The food is superb, no silly fancy descriptions (fluffy bed of this, organic picked with virgin's hands, reared in a gentle environment, open meadows etc etc...you get the gist).

All food is home made and freshly prepared to order, which is clearly evident.

You'd better make sure you're hungry before visiting for a meal. No sneaky tricks here - "Oh sorry, you want veg / chips etc with that?" All of the extras are included (and plenty of them), the overall meal size being considerably more than average. Most meals include a dessert as well.

We had between us, Vegetable Lasagne, Scampi, Ham Eggs and Chips, with a side salad and Garlic Bread. We couldn't manage a dessert,being full to bursting point, but had one to try between us (Banoffee with cream). If (as we did) you fancy some Garlic Bread "on the side", be aware, a portion is a whole baguette!!. All absolutely superb.

The prices are incredibly competitive (for instance choice of Roasts - again, seeing others having, a real plate full (with a side platter of different vegetable) - under £6 (which includes a dessert).

Drink prices: We had a Pint (cask ale), half pint of Guiness, a Pepsi, and a bottle of water: A little over £7. So, again, great value.

Service is very friendly, if a little fraught at busy times..... The Proprietor, who is front of house, is a delightful, pleasant, and friendly chap who is clearly passionate about the standard of food.

Like I say, it would be tempting to give this one a miss...... Give it a try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GarrySH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Coach House also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Old Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing