We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seascape Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$96
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
$140
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Orestone Manor(Torquay)
$170
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Torquay(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$55
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$119
$114
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveler rating
89
140
71
30
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
140
71
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaledonian travelcreaking floorboardstribute weekendcoach holidaydining roomthree choicesstar hotelshower attachmentfloor boardsdouble and single bedsea viewmeal timeschristmas decorationsenjoyable weekendfull english breakfastpiping hottea coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 357 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Brilliant time at this Hotel.. On a Murder Mistry weekend. Room was adequate, nice to have tea facilities and TV. Restaurant was fabulous, food very good, staff all very nice and helpful. Entertainment on the Friday night was fabulous, think the guitarist and entertainer was called Jim.
Easy walk to seafront, uphill a bit on the way back. Thanks for a brill weekend stay, at such a reasonable cost, I don't know how you do it all for the money. (The barman earnt his money that weekend, very busy, nice chap)

Best wishes.
Mike and Jean, from Fareham Hampshire.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting your review and such a positive one at that. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Murder Mystery theme and we have also passed on you kind coments to Jim our Friday night entertainer. I have passed on your positive comments to the chefs and all the staff mentioned especialy Jamie (barman) who was very pleased to recieve a positive review.

As you enjoyed your stay with us so much we do hope that you will return again in the near future.

Many Thanks & Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife & I have just enjoyed immensely, a Murder/ Mystery weekend at the Seascape hotel Torquay booked with Justgo Holidays. We have thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would recommend it to anyone. The other members of both coach trips obviously enjoyed it as well. Both evenings entertainment were excellent and friendly. The Hotel staff & food & amenities were very good also. Thanks very much for a memorable time, Mike and Pat Harwar

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Murder Mystery' Weekend we have lots of these trips planned for early next year and they are selling fast. We also appreciate your comments regarding the staff and food i have passed on your comments to all.

We do hope to see you agin.

Many Thanks & Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hi to Phil & all the staff, we recently came to you on a whist holiday organised by a local travel company and despite an earlier report we read, we must say that this was most enjoyable. The hotel was very clean, comfortable, warm and friendly, the whist was well run and the holiday well organised. Admitted at first we were surprised to see so many notices, and regard the TVs being fixed we appreciate that this is because of health & safety, we feel a little bit more choice on the menu would go a long way but overall most enjoyable. Ginger Tom

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Hi Trevor

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. I spoke to Christine a few days ago and already disccused the few small issues that you had this year have already been sorted and resolved for your next visit.
We are glad that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you all again.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is very clean and well furnished and well located but let down very badly by details. Too many 'schoolboy' 'warning' notices around. Like -if we consider towels you discard as not being dirty enough then we add 50p to bill . In public toilets a notice states no smoking and if you do then we will eject you from hotel. forthwith. in the bar one about inappropriate behaviour etc- will be ejected forthwith. not sure what their usual clientele but they seem to be very 'naughty' even the tvs are glued down. have to pay £10 refundable deposit for remote control.

FOOD: Request for cheese and bis instead of sweet flatly refused- no changes allowed. No alternative salads available. mains menu were usually a roast or similar, fish dish and vegetarian. The meat one usually very good but the fish was extremely poor especially as Brixham is nearby but they only do frozen tasteless fish dish..

Summary is that it could be a very good hotel but is ruined by silly rules and inflexibility. They are losing repeat bookings for a few pounds savings. A couple of suggestions -Extend the breakfast choice. Main meal alternatives and add cheese and biscuits. Simple additions really and quite cheap to provide.

Room Tip: seaview rooms are very good. double glazing is excellent..no road noise despite being close to road.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ciderkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for review. I would like to respond to some of your points you made, the non-smoking signs comply with goverment legislation to smoking indoors rules and the sign in the bar regarding absusive behaviour towards staff is a general customer service notice that you will find in all customer service outlets, post offices, shops etc. None of the guests on your tour got charged for the change of towels so i do not see why this is relevant? Also it does not state that charges are made upon our decision the charge is only brought forward if the guest insist on having the towels changed DAILY!
TVs are not glued down they are fastened to the units this is purely for safety reasons as widescreen TVs are very lightweight and therefor could be knocked off and damged easily and could also cause someone injury if in landed on thier foot etc. The regundable deposit is infact REFUNDABLE and this policy is only in place as in the past tv remotes have gone missing, by doing the deposit scheme we always ensure that the remotes are returned and availble for the next guests to enjoy during thier stay with us.
Salads were available upon request which is why some of your party had them throughout thier stay. Cheese and biscuits were not provided on this stay as explained by myself when questioned. We do not loose repeat bookings and infact your party has alraedy re-booked for next year, perhaps you have just not been informed?!!!
The organiser and tour opertator were happy with 99% of thier stay with us with just 3 x small changes they requested for next year all of which have been approved and will be applied.

Regards

M Lyons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

we stopped at the seascape on a coach trip it was clean and had a tea making facility in the room which was a surprise as it was 2 star the food was adequate but the evening meal was at 6.30 which we feel is a bit early as we did not get back from trips until about 5 30 not leaving time to shower or a rest as some of our coach party were elderly
beware of the coffee as it is a acquired taste awful and the barman I feel is in the wrong job as his attitude and people skills are lacking overall the hotel is acceptable and in a good location
but not for us

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank graham o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for you review. Im am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We do use branded coffee and can not understand why it was such anquired taste but this could be due to personal preference.
I have spoken with the bar manager and he said he didnt recieve any direct complaints during your stay neither did we recieve any complaints on reception about him. However he has taken this comment on board and is working to ensure that is kind of comment cannot be made again.

Kindest Regards

M Lyons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews