We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value”
Review of Seascape Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seascape Hotel
Ranked #45 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We've just returned from a freezing week's JustGo break, staying at this hotel. It's a standard Torquay hotel with a maze of rooms but it scored extra points with us for (1) having very warm heating on full blast everywhere for the whole of the freezing week (2) excellent breakfasts (3) super waitresses. Dinners are fine too, filling and well presented. The rooms are quite average size-wise but are clean and comfortable. Ours sported a view of a brick wall but as we only used the room for sleeping etc. it was no problem. There was no noise at all during the night, either inside or outside the hotel. The rooms have tea/coffee making facilities and a cramped but serviceable shower/WC.
Smokers will be pleased to note that out on the terrace there is a specially erected garden shed on the roof, so one can smoke without getting soaked or standing in the wind.
Most nights the hotel had the one-man or one-woman type entertainer in the bar, and while they are good and something my wife is keen on they're not my scene, but fortunately I found a RAFA club round the corner which sold drink at much cheapness and which welcomes non-members, so of an evening I'd decamp round there and leave my wife to enjoy the entertainment with other members of the coach party.
All in all, considering what we paid, the hotel was very good value indeed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sovmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting your review. We are pleased that you found the hotel warm and comfortable and the service from the waiting staff excellent.

I am pleased that you felt you had value for money and hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    127
    61
    27
    20
See reviews for
41
152
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My partner and i stayed here on a Just Go weekendbreak.The rooms were clean but ours was very cold ! I had to wear my pyjamas and a sweatshirt in bed ! The food was basic and at breakfast the full english apparently came with two accompaniments of the chefs choice ( which each morning was baked beans !) The waitress was very nice and friendly as was the barman.Overall as a £99 weekend break with Just Go we feel that we had value for money,Thankyou.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you found your room to be cold, we do have the heating on 12.5hrs a day at the minute so am surpised you felt the cold.

We are pleased that you felt that your stay with us was good value for money and hope you will return soon.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from an excellent weekend break to Torquay, with 'JustGo' holidays and found everything first rate. Hotel spotlessly clean, staff very attentive, food excellent value, nothing too much trouble. If anyone has complaints, all I can say is try booking the equivalent break for the same money, getting the same service. Will return ASAP, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 60Joan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and such a positive one at that. We are pleased that you found the staff very attentive and the rooms spotlessly clean. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and efficient team.

Thank you again and hope that we will be welcoming you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Well, just about to leave this lovely hotel after bringing a group of just-go passengers for a 4 day break.
What a superb hotel that offers value for money along with great service by all the staff.
Rooms were very clean and attended to daily, the food was of a very good standard, and there was entertainement provided nightly.
If you are thinking of booking a trip here in the future then do it now!!
As a driver, we get put into some places that are horrible, but I am glad to emphasize that the seascape is not one of them.
Well done to all, especially Michelle for organising a great team that made a great trip.
See you again soon, I hope.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bryanmcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Bryan

Thank you for posting your review, its always nice when we have lovely drivers that appreciate us and are willing to work with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope that just go will be sending you to stay with us again very soon!

Thanks again

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

just returned from a weekend in Torquay with" Just Go", the hotel was excellent value, lovely and clean, good food and very friendly staff, would certainly recommend this hotel and hope to go again next year

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ladybird622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, it was short sweet and to the point just how we like them! :) We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope that you will be returning to see us next year!

Many Thanks & Kind Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with just-go on a long weekend. It was excellent value, the food was good. One of us is a coeliac and was very pleased with the food she was given. The waiting staff were polite and fast. We were not convinced about the manageresses attitude when we arrived but having lived in Devon know that the people can come across as abrupt.
Our room was too hot for us with no adjustment possible on the radiator, we kept the window open all the time even though it was very cold outside. There was not much pressure on the shower and the bathroom fan was noisier than is usual. The room and hotel were clean but the creaking floorboards were a problem at night! as was the daily roadsweeper at 5.30am! especially with the window open.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review the I am pleased that one of your party are happy with thier coeliac choices, and that you found the waiting staff to be polite & efficient.
I am sorry that you found the manager to be abrupt, however i would like to point out that the Manager (myself) is Northan so unless you got confussed with another member of staff? Again i am sorry that you felt this way about one of my team.
The reason that there is no option to turn down the radiators idividually is due to the boiler being a very large volume system and trvs are not compatable with them. However the heating does not go on throughout the night as at home it is on a timer.
Unfortunately i can not do alot about the road sweepers.
Thank you again for your report and please that you found the hotel to be 'excellent value & good food'.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just got back from windy Torquay, on a just-go coach trip. Room was spotlessly clean, staff were very friendly and helpful, really could not have done more for us. If forced to find fault I'd have preferred to have a cheese course option with dinner, but you can't have everything ;-)
Thanks for a lovely weekend, pound for pound you cannot go wrong.
Suspect the comments logged earlier may be from our disgruntled coach driver.....all I can say us that does not reflect our experience if this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Coachtripper001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, General Manager at Seascape Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. I am so pleased that you found the hotel 'great value & our team of staff to be fantastic'. I have passed on your review to all the staff and told them to keep up the good work! :)
Thank you also for supporting us with the below review from the coach driver, since my response to his post i have since learnt that he has been dismissed from his duties within the company.

We do hope that if you return to Torquay again that you will come and stay with us.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards

Michelle Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.1 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
1.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#88 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#53 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
11.6 mi away
Ashton Court
Ashton Court
#10 of 11 in Exmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#86 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Hotel

Property: Seascape Hotel
Address: 8-10 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seascape Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Seascape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing