We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ansteys Lea Hotel
Ranked #127 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Newport
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were treated exceptionally well. This is a family run hotel which is evident in how welcome you are made. I'm sure plenty of people would moan about slightly dated decor. But I think the fantastic breakfast of fresh fruit, cereals an full English plus the fact that each day the tea and coffee facilities and toilet rolls were replenished in our room each day. The bed was very comfortable with decent pillows, an plenty of spare blankets should we have needed them. It is only a twelve minute walk into torquay.
We had a great stay in this hotel and would defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    16
    5
    1
    11
See reviews for
27
24
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

What a fantastic little gem .. Just a short walk away from town and the beach . I can highly recommend this hotel /appts. It's a great get away that has all home amenities and friendly staff that can advise great days out. Fantastic for families. Clean , bright, spacious, great value for money . Highly recommended. *****

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe7316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gidea Park
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a long weekend's stay at the hotel. Owner was very friendly and knowledgable of the area. Rooms were very clean, bed very comfortable and there was a really powerful walk in shower which was a pleasant surprise! Will definitely return here next time we want to stay in Torquay. Great value!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFC2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

myself and my husband and young son have been staying here every 6 months for the past few years ,we have always been made to feel welcome now as we did the first time we stayed .the holiday flat we stay in is room 3 it's a large room with all you need to have a good nights sleep if you have been out all day ,or just to chill out ,like we do having a young child .,breakfast is to a high standard ,although we have only ever stayed in one room. roy had always showed me what he's been doing since our last stay and all the rooms are to a high standard .the hotel is just out of town ,within walking distance .so you dont get the noise from town .will be using again and again and would recommend to anyone going to torquay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The owner was very friendly and helpful, the hotel was very homely and the beds are so comfortable! will definitely be staying there when I return to Torquay.The best fish and chips just down the road, couldn`t ask for anything more

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel provides excellent self catering facilities. The self catering apartments are spacious, clean and comfortable with wifi and flat screen TV's. The suite's which have separate bedrooms have TV's in each room (I have stayed in most of the apartments in this hotel) they all have modern walk in showers. The kitchen areas are well equipped with modern cookers, hobs, microwaves and fridge freezers. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful providing a really good service. Parking is secure and off road and the garden is really pleasant.

I have nothing bad or negative to report about these self catering apartments.

Room Tip: Just tell the owner what is important to you and he will try to accomodate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrjeanross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have revisited the Ansteys Lea Hotel after my first visit last year. I was pleasantly surprised to find there were self catering apartments which I stayed in. All was brand new, nice and clean and I loved the huge TV! Owner was very helpful and I had a nice breakfast in the new dining room. I don't understand these negative reviews, and I will definitely be returning to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go for the self catering apartments, they are spacious and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenNH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.7 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#51 of 87 in Torquay
97 reviews
2.1 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#41 of 87 in Torquay
101 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Serendipity Guest House
Serendipity Guest House
#73 of 150 in Torquay
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#59 of 150 in Torquay
202 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Parks Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ansteys Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ansteys Lea Hotel

Property: The Ansteys Lea Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Road | Wellswood, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ansteys Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ansteys Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ansteys Lea Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing