We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel friendly service great value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ansteys Lea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ansteys Lea Hotel
Ranked #130 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel friendly service great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

The hotel was clean and comfortable and Roy was a very good host nothing too much trouble. The hotel had been recently updated since our last visit with a new dining room and guest rooms all refurbished. Breakfast was very good piping hot good service. Hotel near Torquay town and sea front and also near to popular Wellswood village with all the shops, tea rooms, Kents Cavern Inn, post office etc. Very enjoyable stay we've booked again for June.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeydew_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    16
    5
    1
    11
See reviews for
27
24
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed here for a week, the hotel has been recently refurbished and our interconnected rooms were lovely.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenNH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

Enjoyed a really nice relaxing weekend at this very friendly hotel. We were met by the very friendly owners who made us welcome from the start. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with extras such as tea & coffee included in the price. All new & fresh decoration. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

I am regular guest at this hotel and do not recognise the negative reviews. It is clean, safe and quiet. It is in a good location with private off-street parking. Sure it is a Victorian building, as are many hotels in Torquay. The staff are always extremely helpful and you will not find better value in this town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSimon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Bad state of repair, Victorian mansion that has not been cleaned since Victorian times. pool area unusable, STAY SOME WHERE ELSE!!!! The only good thing about this hotel is the front driveway out of there. if you can get a car parking spot in the driveway as taken up by old rusted Saab cars belonging to the owner,. The room was not cleaned the whole time of are stay. Torquay is a nice place lots of things to do.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

When i booked this hotel direct with the owner Roy Gosden..I found him very helpful and friendly over the phone right from the start..We stayed at this beautiful hotel 10nights(12th July-23rd 2010)we had 2rooms both with stunning views..We had the most perfect full english breakfast every morning..The rooms were lovely,clean and tidy with daily maid to clean our rooms that had friee view tv/fast internet in our rooms also shower and very comfortable beds...I am normally extreamly hard to please and i was blown away by Roy and his team who were extreamly friendly and they always went the extra mile with advice on the area and we all loved there good old fashioned service always with a smile(which until now i thought it was long gone)..My elderly parents would go nightly to bar in the hotel for a good natter with Roy and i know my parents will miss that.. The hotel made our holiday perfect..It has plenty of free parking in and around the hotel..The hotel is exctly 1mile from sea front..It took us 15minutes to walk it..The hotel is situated in a very beautiful quiet area of Torquay aswell..I just want everyone to know if you are going to Torquay then this hotel is a must..Thanks again Roy you are a true gent and in the time we stayed we all feel like we found a great friend..Hope to be back next year again.. Paul from North East UK

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d5udd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

This is the third time we have been to this hotel and it will be the last. Upon arriving at the weekend it was full of young children who were there for a dancing competition in Torquay. They were running around the hotel, slamming doors and being very noisy. After the weekend this quietened and we then found out there they were not doing evening meals so had to go out and find this every evening. The swimming pool was not opened until our last day and we were informed this had only been opened to accommodate the numerous stag parties who were coming in that day. Needless to say that we did not get to sleep that night for them making noise until 5.00 am. The hotel iteself has become very dated and is in need of refurbishment. The rooms are very basic and most of furniture has seen better days. The bathroom could have been cleaner and more water came out of the top of the shower than the shower head iteself. The hotel is not kept tidy. Washing bundles are left strewn all over the hotel. It has supposed to have a bar but unless you go and find someone to actually get you a drink they don't bother opening it. I would not recommend this to anyone unless you are a stag party, etc as we have come across this before and it just keeps happening. very disappointed and will not bother wasting money on this again!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaus19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#52 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ansteys Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ansteys Lea Hotel

Property: The Ansteys Lea Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Road | Wellswood, Torquay TQ1 2QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ansteys Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Ansteys Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ansteys Lea Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing