We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food.”
Review of The Buccaneer Inn

The Buccaneer Inn
Ranked #30 of 343 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A great Pub that does excellent value and quality 'Pub Food' with its own twist. Winner of St. Austell Brewery 'Cask Ale pub of the year 2012'. Recommended in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2014.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stopped here on a whim for lunch. Extremely good food and excellent value for money. We had the filled baked potatoes which were huge and came with a side salad. Very tasty.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    109
    27
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Did not actually stay, but went there for lunch, excellent food and very reasonable too, also went there a couple of nights for a drink while staying in Babbacombe, they keep an excellent pint, will be returning there when we visit Babbacombe again.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainblue61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Went there on a rainy night. Had the biggest burger I have ever had. Excellent value and pleasant staff

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Made my Summer”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed in Babbacombe for two weeks this summer and there is several bars and eateries around . By the third day we had a meal in the Buccaneer , wow what a difference , the atmosphere , the service , the quality of food was superior to anything else around .
The landlord Steve and his wife made us so welcome , and his local knowledge was so useful and really interesting.
Babbacombe is a great area and the balance that Steve and his family achieve with the Buccaneer is perfect , classy enough to represent the area , yet fun enough for all age groups to enjoy. The bar staff were always cheerful and welcoming , willing to help and advise which was great. Dogs were welcomed as long as controlled , and small children had great fun on the grassed front overlooking the sea. Thanks to them , it really made my holiday break , and we felt we had new friends now in Devon , I recommend whatever your age , go there and enjoy your selves and soak up the view from the front deck as the sun sets , you wont regret it .
Pete and Carol BRISTOL.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My partner and I had burgers. The burgers were average pub fayre, my burger being a liitle dry and over cooked. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, though the bar staff were unable to indicate whether their bottled ciders were dry, medium or sweet. This is something they should be aware of. We went to this establishment on the basis of tripadvisor reviews and I appreciate that my rating is below the average given by other reviewers, perhaps we were unlucky.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buccaneer Inn also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Buccaneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing