We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is at the top of rhe town in more ways than one”
Review of Driftwood Cafe

Driftwood Cafe
Ranked #63 of 343 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Driftwood cafe and bistro is unlike any other on Fore Street. We place great value on quality, presentation and difference. Our food and produce are fresh and locally sourced wherever possible, and everything is prepared and cooked in our kitchen. With a cool look, the Driftwood Cafe is really true to its name
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is at the top of rhe town in more ways than one”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here after walking past many small cafes. The food both myself and wife had were well, fresh and to coin a friends saying "Handsome" We both had a sandwich, I opted for a bagette this was large fresh and well filled the added salad garnish was crisp and the crisps themselves of a good quality.

The wife had a toasted sandwich which was on seeded bread. My wife enjoyed it.

The pot of tea did a number of refills and all priced very reasonabley.

A very good choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Par151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    26
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Have visited this cafe on numerous occasions and am never disappointed. Coffee is to die for and the cakes are huge. Lunch was very filling and so delicious and the staff are always attentive. If ever in st marychurch I try and pay them a visit...... Great all round

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
1 review
“Superb experience!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Visited Driftwood early this week for lunch, the whole family really enjoyed it, from freshly made sandwiches and a superb Greek salad. I had a jacket potato which was crispy from the oven and generously filled with cheese and ham! Delicious! All this was washed down with a chilled pint of Thatchers as they are also licensed! Will definitely be visiting again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ediemcmoo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definately lovely cakes”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Have been in many times and have to say we have never tasted cakes like it. Lovely & light, whether it has something to do with them being gluten free I don't know, but they are truly delicious!. A generous size coffee is served & a good size pot of tea. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the Cakes”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Popped into the Driftwood for Cake & Coffee! Great choice of freshly baked cakes, one still warm from the oven. Very relaxed atmosphere and attentive, friendly staff. Nicely decorated with a chill out room at the back. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeeItLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood Cafe also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Driftwood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing