We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cooked brekkie”

The Singing Kettle Tea Room and Eatery
Ranked #2 of 23 Coffee & Tea in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Singing Kettle is a small family run establishment serving home made scones, cakes, cookies, soups, sandwiches & lite meals including a vast gluten free menu and now a diabetic cream tea . We use local produce, suppliers and Fair Trade product where ever possible. We offer free Wi-Fi and have superfast broadband and are proud to have received 'The Certificate of Excellence' for the fourth year running.
southampton
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great cooked brekkie”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We decided to eat at this cafe instead of our hotel as the breakfasts were too early for us, so 2 mins down the road we found the Singing Kettle.
We couldn't fault it, great service, great food. Top marks!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    83
    24
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cream tea”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We enjoyed the most fabulous Devon cream tea here. We opted for the coffee and walnut scone - it was sublime. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy Cream Tea!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I visited here yesterday with my boyfriend, whilst we were on holiday, and I was really hoping that it would be as good as all the reviews on here make it out to be. Thankfully it was and we each had a gorgeous cream tea. I liked that you could choose from a selection of homemade scones. I chose the cherry and it was so nice! Warm and crumbly with plenty of cherries. The clotted cream and jam were also very lovely and helped make it a very decadent treat! There was also plenty of tea to wash it all down with. Staff were very friendly and we got served fast. Granted there was only us and another couple there, but sometimes a place can be empty and you can still be waiting an age! It's a short walk from the sea front but if I hadn't of read about it in the Eating Out guide I don't think we would have stumbled across it. Very glad we did though and we will be recommending :)
*Oh and I also liked that they go to the effort to make sure that everything is local!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauraeve89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and Welcoming”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited because of the great reviews trip advisor had posted. We have to agree with the fantastic comments others had to say.We enjoyed the Devon Afternoon Delight which we were unable to finish due to ample portion sizes. Thank you we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beannie1976
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Omg fab”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Thank so much for a fab experience the food was fab had a fresh crab sandwich that was moreish and tea and scones .the teapots where sliver service the waiters where very gd the place is a hidden gem we went for are 10 th anniversary I'll be going back soon x

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank beannie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Singing Kettle Tea Room and Eatery also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Singing Kettle Tea Room and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing