We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rutland Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
$133
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$122
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cimon(Torquay)
$105
$101
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$117
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Yardley Manor Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
$71
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$146
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
35
21
10
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
21
10
1
4
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 71 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just had a weeks stay at the rutland with my mum and two friends on one of their coach trips and all I can say is the rutland is fantastic from the drivers who pick you up in your home town, take you on tours and take you back home to the waiters bar staff and management. Nothing is too much trouble, the food and service is great!!! Everybody becomes friends. I truly cannot say enough about the hotel and it's staff other than I highly recommend it and would say if you are thinking of going to the rutland think no more and go!!!
I cannot wait to go back very soon.
Thankyou everyone at the rutland for a very enjoyable stay!!!!!
Kerry and Christine

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keriixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eve W, Manager at Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for your review we are always pleased when people let us know that they have had a good time, but to have the added bonus of putting it on trip advisor is very much appreciated Thank you again EVE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from a 6 day coach holiday at the Rutland Hotel.
The coach is owned and operated by the hotel and is only one year old.
The hotel facilities were excellant in every respect from the staff, the decor and the free and optional trips out.
I would definitely recommend this holiday as extremly good
value and despite the bad weather we were well looked after which made for a nice break at the start of the holiday season.

Room Tip: There is a lift so room access is not a problem.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ron a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eve W, Manager at Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

thankyou very much for your comments on tripadvisor it is very much appreciated when people take the time to place such a lovely review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. EVE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Rutland where I had a brilliant time. Tom and Eve and staff were excellent at making the guests feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were well decorated and clean and the menus well chosen to give guests a very adequate choice. Table service was very good and prompt.

The Rutland's own coach and it's team was a real boon. Les and Gwen were very attentive to needs and the journey from Lincolnshire to the Hotel could not have been better. On their day off Graham also did a wonderful job. This coach also acted as a ferry service to and from Torquay, so if you did't want to go on the interesting visits you could be dropped off in town and picked up on return.

Altogether, this was an excellent holiday. The fact that nearly all the guests had returned (some of them many times) speaks volumes for its service, quality and value.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Oz6670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eve W, Manager at Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thankyou for your response we are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday here in Torquay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

It's been some years since we last visited the Rutland in Torquay ,not by choice but commitments. On our return this Easter we found nothing but friendly and helpful staff and guests. Eve and Tom plus the staff where excellent. We tried the lodges this time and found them very nice and comfortable. The young man who looked after us at meal times was the perfect gentleman,nothing was to much trouble for him. A credit to the Rutland team. The coach was out of this world not only in looks but for comfort. The driver Les and his wife made the holiday a very friendly and informative trip both to the Rutland and return journey back to Doncaster. We shall return to the Rutland as soon as our commitments allow.

Room Tip: Try the lodges
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eve W, Manager at Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Sorry i havent responded to your comments until now, it was only by chance that i realised we had had so many super reviews during this year. Thank you so much for you comments we do appreciate it when people take the time to tell others that the Rutland is worth a visit so thank you again EVe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Few hotels can actually be described as a home from home - The Rutland is, nothing is too much trouble. The food is as good as home cooked, with a good choice. Excellent nightly entertainment and when you hear it said there is no i in team that is the Rutland from Tom & Eve through all the staff they work as one to make every guest feel special. We have gone as a family for the last 12 years and will continue to return !! Plus Les & Gwen pic you up in the coach and your holidays as soon as your on board.

Room Tip: If your a smoker 27 has a balcony or there is always the lodge rooms if your next to good on the feet
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eve W, Manager at Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thankyou for your review David it was very kind of you. Glad you and Betty enjoyed your holiday, Merry Christmas and New year see you soon eve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews