We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice meal clean toilets !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tiger Bills

Tiger Bills
Ranked #155 of 336 Restaurants in Torquay
Cuisines: American, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
south devon
Level Contributor
169 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“nice meal clean toilets !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

usual meal .... belongs to" MAMBO" along the road ... served by a pleasant girl ( but there was a very very slim girl who looked like she would like to be anywhere but there ! with a very bored look on her face .....NO " eye contact " with new customers. ( was a talking point with us )!

However that didn't affect us , and the service was quick and meal ok .

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kezziedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelSouthwood, TigerBillsHQ at Tiger Bills, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you had a good meal and found the service quick! We look forward to seeing you again, at Mambo and Tiger Bills!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    112
    65
    50
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“horrendous”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

been 4 times and every single time the service is horrendous!

I went at different times in the day and different days each time so though it may of been the staff, time of day and the day.

First time i went we were sat right in the middle and the waitresses just ignored us. They were very helpful once we got served, Food is yummy though.

Second time, my partner and i sat by the window. Took us 15 minutes to get a drink.

Third time, 10 of us sat at the back near the kitchen. Nearly choked on all the smoke coming out of the kitchen. Clearly did not have extractor fans. I couldn't even eat my meal without crying as my eyes were watering so much!!

Fourth time we sat in a booth and waited 20 minutes for a drink.

Exeter one - had no problems whatsoever. Service is excellent there. Torquay need to step it up.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank OllieAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelSouthwood, Tiger Bills HQ at Tiger Bills, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I hope that you give us another chance in Torquay to show you that we can do what Exeter do! We are so sorry that you have had those consecutive poor experiences - it is not acceptable and will be dealt with, of this you have our complete assurance.

Our apologies again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Walked out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We had to wait 10 minutes waiting to be seated when there was plenty of vacant tables, eventually we were acknowledged and where seated. After another wait a waitress came to take our drink order and we asked her if she could take our food order but this couldn't be done. The waitress said there our only two of us serving and we can't do it all. We walked out of the restaurant totally disappointed and just couldn't believe that on a bank holiday only two waitresses were working. The management seriously need to wake up if they want custom and the local customers to return especially in the recession. Can not comment on the food because we expect customer service and not to have spent hours waiting for a meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_payne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelSouthwood, Tiger Bills HQ at Tiger Bills, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Hi there

We are so sorry that you couldn't eat at Tiger Bills when you wanted to.

We have been exceptionally busy over the summer period and regrettably sometimes we have been stretched to the limit. We hope that you will feel able to return to review the food next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Having walked round Torquay for what seemed a life time trying to find a place where all four of us would enjoy something we came across Tiger Bills, must have been good because on a 5 night stay we came here 3 times.

With the choice of Thai or American the menu gives a great choice, my daughter the burger fanatic was happy and the rest of us went Thai, pleased to say all the meals arrived quickly and the service was spot on, not long before the plates had been cleaned !!!, my son in particular can be fussy but was more than happy with his Thai choice, so much so it was his choice for his birthday meal a few nights later.

On the next visits I changed and went for the burger option and was very impressed, the burger was probably one of the best I have ever tasted, on the whole a great find and looking forward to the opening of a Tiger Bills in Sheffield (hint hint).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneRutledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelSouthwood, Tiger Bills HQ at Tiger Bills, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Three times in five nights - brilliant! Thank you so much for your lovely review. When we get such compliments, it makes us glow with pride!

Our franchise director is from Rotherham, so you never know about Sheffield!

Please do come and see us again next time you are around a Tiger Bills!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere but not much waitress attention”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Used 'Eating out' brochure & trip advisor to find recommendations for a restaurant on 2nd night of a week's holiday in Torquay and came across Tiger Bills- very pleased we did as both myself and OH thoroughly enjoyed our meals here! OH had t-bone steak cooked blue just as he asked and enjoyed every mouthful! I had cheee and bacon burger with sweet potato fries which were absolutely delicious!! We shared the Tiger Bills sundae and although served with huge tablespoons the actual sunde was delicious and lovely to share! Not very impressed with the fact that no server checked our meals were ok but it was very busy being a Saturday night and other than that the food did make up for it. Next time I'm going to try something from the Thai menu!

Helpful?
1 Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelSouthwood, Tiger Bills HQ at Tiger Bills, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review!

We did get very busy indeed during the summer months, so I can understand your observations there. However, we are delighted that it didn't spoil your enjoyment of your trip to Tiger Bills and we look forward to serving you some delicious authentic Thai food on your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiger Bills also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Tiger Bills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing