We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at Tiger Bills”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tiger Bills

Tiger Bills
Ranked #154 of 336 Restaurants in Torquay
Cuisines: American, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lunch at Tiger Bills”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Didn't plan to go here, and if we'd read the TA reviews, would have probably given it a miss, but glad we gave it a go. Drawn in by the lunch time deal, we didn't even realise it was serving Thai until we got the menus. But 2 courses for (i think) £7.99 was a really good deal. Choice of maybe 6-7 starters, and the same mains - we chose deep fried veg, chicken skewers for starters. Mains were red and green thai curries, and a stir fry. All were really fresh, and tasty with just teh right amount of kick. Also a childrens menu, which one of our kids chose from. The bill of £36 for 4 people was a great deal, no complaints, would def go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milky-bar-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LifestyleGroup, Owner at Tiger Bills, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi Milky-bar-man

We're so glad you gave us a go, and that we delivered yummy good value Thai dishes to you! Thank you so much for your lovely review and we hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    112
    65
    50
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great thai meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

When looking for restaurants in Torquay, I didn't pick up this one as I only looked at the top 20 or so, but came across it by chance. We went for the Thai set lunch menu (2 courses for less than £8), which was lovely. The spring rolls could have done with a better variety of veg inside, but the mains (thai green curry and thai red curry) were excellent. Full on flavours and the veg cooked to perfection. We have eaten in many thai restaurants over the years, but this must be one of our favourites. We liked in so much that we tried to get in for dinner the next day, but without success (too popular!). Good customer service too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LifestyleGroup, Owner at Tiger Bills, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi FrequentTraveller70

Thank you for your lovely review. We have made quite a few changes lately, so it's great to see that we are getting things right enough to be awarded five stars. The Thai curries are very popular (a personal favourite, too!). Staines and Hammersmith Tiger Bills will be opening this summer so maybe you might like to visit them at some point, if you're still in Reading? We look forward to seeing you again any which way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average Food, disappointing/non existent service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We visited this restaurant as part of a large party, so had been asked to pre-order well in advance. Stupidly we expected this to mean prompt service when we were there. 2 of our party were completely missed out when the starters were served. The majority of the party had ordered Thai food and it was the non Thai starters that were missing, so initially we assumed that they would be served very shortly. After a lengthy wait it became apparent that they were not coming at all so we actually had to chase for them. We then checked the order details that the restaurant had to ensure that they had received our full order and to ensure no other dishes had been missed off - when the staff member checked the order, the missing starters were clearly detailed so there was no valid reason for the meals not to have been served with everyone else's. There was then at least another 20 minute wait for the missing starters to be sent over. No-one bothered to apologise to the people left without food for so long. The service generally was very slow - we were there from 7:30pm, having placed our orders well In advance and it was well past 9pm before we had our main meals. No-one in our party was very impressed by the quality of the food when it did arrive either - we ate it because we were hungry not because it was good.
It also took a very long time for the dirty plates to be cleared after each course. It was gone 10pm by the time we managed to get out of there. My overall impression of Tiger Bills (Torquay) is that either the management and staff have no idea what customer service is, or if they do know what it is, they have no intention of going out of their way to provide it to their customers - perhaps they feel that as it is a resort area people will only ever go there once so why bother. My advice to anyone planning to go there is save yourself the bother - you'll get better service and better quality food elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LifestyleGroup, Owner at Tiger Bills, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi Rachel

Oh no! We apologise for your disappointment. We have recruited and brought in new management and hope that sometime you will give us a chance to right the wrong. We will keep an eye on the situation and once again, we are sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There's plenty of better restaurants out there.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Went to Tigerbills for a birthday do. Arrived at 7pm. Was seated for approx 15 minutes before we were asked if we wanted drinks.
Drinks came, ordered our food. Thank god we ordered starters as main course took so long to come. Starters arrived 7.50 pm. Sat there for ages before dirty plates were taken away, main course finally turned up at 9pm! Nobody had approached us to ask if we wanted more drinks or to let us know why the food was taking so long.
Food was average, certainly not worth the wait, and I left after being there nearly 3 hours only to have drunk 1 drink!
If your not hungry & have plenty of time to spare Tigerbills is the place to go!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazel1bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LifestyleGroup, Owner at Tiger Bills, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi Hazel1bob

We're so sorry that you had to wait so long for your food, and that you were disappointed when it arrived. This is not OK. We have listened to this feedback and are currently recruiting to make sure that it doesn't happen. We are also sorry that no-one spoke to you about the wait - again, unacceptable. We wish you had told us at the time and we would have had a chance to remedy the situation if we could. Once again, our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“American menu”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Not impressed. 8 oz steak 4 oz of it was just gristle. The ribs tasted cheap and sloppy as did the chips. Jacket potato obviously just microwaved with not much butter. The "chargrilled" effect was more like burnt and the price was on par with TGIs only easily half the quality

Helpful?
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LifestyleGroup, Owner at Tiger Bills, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi Nathan

Oh no! This is not good. We're so sorry that you were not impressed. Thank you for your feedback, which I can assure you goes a long way towards us making sure that two-star reviews are few and far between. I hope that you give us another chance so that we can perhaps eke some more stars out of you.

Our apologies again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiger Bills also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Tiger Bills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing