We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food!”
Review of The Kents

The Kents
Ranked #38 of 339 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely food!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Went here for dinner on the last night of our holiday and we weren't disappointed. Great menu options. I had one of the specials - spicy beef madras - which was gorgeous, my husband had a burger which he said was one of the nicest he's tasted, and our son had mini fish and chips which he also enjoyed (altho the fish really was a mini!). We had ice cream / warm chocolate brownie for dessert also yummy. I would recommend booking as we did thankfully - not a huge restaurant and very busy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkirkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    86
    24
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely meal but noisy”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here on our first night in Torquay. Got a last minute table in the restaurant area. Food and service was great, as was the Doombar.

Only issue was the level of noise from the pub/bar area which we were seated close to. Yes it was a Saturday night so you expect a pub to be busy but it was so loud as to be distracting while we were trying to relax and have a meal.

Helpful?
Thank HerbieGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“After a frosty welcome we were very pleased”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

So we arrived at the kents for my husbands birthday and as we walked in the door one both girls at the bar just stared at us, one then carried on serving whilst the other girl stood there looking at us gone out whilst twiddling her thumbs and did not say a word to us, not even hello. I asked her if we are to just sit down in the restaurant her reply was 'oh she will sort you out' pointing at another girl. Anyway after being greeted by the waitress she sat us down at a lovely little table in the corner and really looked after us. The food was delicious, we had the cured meat platter for starters and the burgers for main, it was all excellent quality food. We would definitely go again, Just a shame about the frosty reception.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rnrdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gastro goodness!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The reputation this restaurant has is very well deserved.....the staff, service and menu were excellent. Food is fresh, locally sourced and plentiful. Highly recommend the ribs, burgers and also the mussels. I noted that there was a lack of chicken options on the menu but there was so many other lovely dishes to distract you! Thoroughly enjoyable evening will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kintonettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty meals”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Good food and excellent service, will be returning regularly. I live locally but this is my first return visit for about 4 years and the restaurant has been refurbished to a high standard. The waitress service was A1.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorquayTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kents also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to The Kents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing