We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the burger on a Wednesday!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kents

The Kents
Ranked #38 of 336 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Go for the burger on a Wednesday!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Really good homemade burgers, all the better with a free pint of your choice (no restriction like wetherspoons!), was a little warm inside so I sat outside to eat. Good mix of locals and tourists too. Locals were tame!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyHayllar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    84
    21
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Was disappointed with my choice of main when I first visited and thought my wife had made the better choice (Doesn’t she always?). So went for her choice the next time and while it looked great I was again disappointed. The staff were so friendly, service and beer great – so will try again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ditsywitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“kents fail to deliver”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

On a recent holiday to torquay my wife and i decided to use our hi-life dining card at Kents. We had already checked out some of the reveiws and were looking forward to a nice lunch. After much deliberation we both opted for the home made burger . mmm. Unfortunately the burger was very disappointing, very dry,not particularly well seasoned and judging by its appearance and texture almost certainly not home made . ( unless they have a press to squash it ,and make it look like a processed burger) !!! . shame because the pub was quite nice .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barls-shed21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fab local....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Fabulous local pub with an extra added edge.....the Resturant, very good value for money with great food to share with family and friends. Although just off the main road while sat in the beer garden you would never know. Very friendly helpful staff serve your every need, full afternoon sun trap to enjoy our long awaited summer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kayb413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“top Sunday Roast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

lovely meal great staff just a few small pointers first the step outside is quite hight few problems with a dodgy hip!!second toilets need a revamp did these get forgotten in the revamp? and finally the music choice please no beautiful south the song in question don't marry her.maybe you can play the clean version not off the blue album its not suitable when there are family's in for lunch.but we were there for the food and that was excellent on value size and presentation well done chef will be back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuppennce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kents also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Kents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing