We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at reasonable prices”
Review of The Kents

The Kents
Ranked #39 of 343 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had the best pork satay I have ever tasted and a lovely bakewell tart for pudding. The main was macaroni cheese which was tasty but I found it a bit too rich. My husband had fajitas which he said were lovely. There was a great choice of food, very eclectic . The service was excellent and the atmosphere in the restaurant was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie5515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    87
    24
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seasoned traveller from Devon
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - nice busy pub”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Friends and I had a meal at the Kents (and a few beers) last night. I was pleasantly surprised when we walked into the place, it was busy and a bustling pleasant atmosphere. We were served quickly at the bar and allocated a table in the restaurant for our use when we were ready.
The beers were fine (Tribute and other real ales)
Three of us had whitebait to start, it was well presented and good quality, I followed it with a rack of ribs with sweet chilli sauce accompanied by a few chips, coleslaw and a small salad. It was well cooked, well presented and tasted good.
Staff were polite and available but not overly attentive.
Overall a good 'local' pub to visit not in the centre of Torquay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chocky1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub and restaurant!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Kents is our local and what a great local it is! The staff are very friendly and the food is fantastic! The menu is excellent and there is something for everyone. The overall atmosphere is brilliant!! Well done Kents keep up the good work!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Value & Ambience”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We always visit The Kents for an early evening drink when in Torquay but this was the first time we had eaten there. The menu was comprehensive, packed with local produce and served nicely by charming waitresses, we both enjoyed the meal very much and will make it a definite return visit next year!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJM206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good pub fayre”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

First time visitor and went with the kids who have eaten here before. Was quite busy for a Tuesday in Torquay but managed to find a table without having booked. Starters and mains were good (I had the Pea Risotto which was nice and 'fresh') but the desserts were very good indeed - Bakewell tart highly recommended. Service was okay for a gastropub. Would go again.

Helpful?
Thank ghotine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kents also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to The Kents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing