We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a tea break”
Review of The Bay Tree Cafe

The Bay Tree Cafe
Ranked #55 of 343 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Your friendly, traditional, family run cafe serving good hearty food at good value prices. Call in for traditional English breakfasts, snacks or lunches, teas, Italian style coffees (roasted in Devon), cool milk shakes and indulgent hot chocolates
Enfield
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place for a tea break”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Good little cafe with a large menu for its size. We only stopped for a toasted teacake and a coffee because it was the day of the Olympic tourch coming through Babbacombe but the food served to other customers looked very good. We wished we had time to revisit for a cooked meal but unfortunately we didnt. A must for our next visit. The owner was very friendly and informative.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    13
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hebburn
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Friendly service and reasonably priced meals. The lady and gentleman behind the counter provided good, friendly service.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A super cafe - friendly and clean with an amazing fry up!”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I have nothing but positive things to say about this lovely cafe. I went there for breakfast with a few friends before heading back home. The interior is lovely and has an almost homely feel to it. The lady who served us was very friendly and the service was speedy. There was a good selection on the menu (very attractive prices!) but we all decided to go for the fry up. It was delicious - the bacon was crispy and the eggs were cooked to perfection. We also asked for tea and we got a pot each! It was just what we were looking for before embarking on a long journey. Next time I am in the area, I will definitely go back. Highly recommend the tasty fry up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HomeAndAwayReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good prices and good coffee”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

A simple no frills cafe not pretending to be anything else. Good quality food and drink at affordable prices.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank thechair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY AND SPOTLESSLY CLEAN”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

A small group of my friends popped into this cafe on our drive back to London for refreshements .It was ideally placed on the main road from where we spotted it.The outside was inviting and the interior did not disappoint it was obviously recently refurbished with a modern interior and exceptionally clean.The couple who run the cafe were friendly and service was efficient and speedy.We ordered teas and cappuccino's[which were authentically Italian] and the cooked full English which was excellent and amazing value for money.Highly recommened if you are in the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FUSSYBUTFAIRLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Tree Cafe also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Bay Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing