We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Orestone Manor
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Trecarn Hotel(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveler rating
534
89
15
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
534
89
15
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubgarden suiteroll top bathfour poster bedhuge bathroomsea viewcoastal pathcream teaboutique hotelno liftagatha christiestayed for nightsfirst floorbreakfast and dinnerbirthday treatthis lovely hotelshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 641 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed in the Horsley Room which had great views down to the sea. Beach is within walking distance although you need a degree of stamina when returning as it is uphil all the way. Restaurant had excellent food both at Breakfast and in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view otherwise you could end up over the front entrance.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orestone, Owner at The Orestone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased you had such a good experience here at the Orestone Manor. Just to put readers in the picture the window above the front entrance is not a bedroom. We have two rooms further along the front elevations which both have coastal sea views, very pretty views although further in distance to the water.
We Hope you return and will be assured a warm welcome
From Neil and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stopped at the Orestone for three nights between Christmas and including New Year's eve. We found everything to be simply excellent. The room was superb, with a lovely view down to the sea. We ate in the restaurant each night and were delighted with the food and service. When my wife was not feeling on top form the one evening, the staff went out their way to give her any choice off menu. Just the job when you're not feeling 100%. And the New Year's party was very well executed. We will definitely stop again some point in the future. The only confusion happened on checking out, when someone else's bar bill appeared on our bill. It was sorted and I wouldn't mark the hotel down for this as everything else was superb, but, as a piece of advice, the owners may wish to re-assess how they control bar tabs for guests stopping at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen-Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

A very successful evening. We were a party of twenty and so were able to have our
Own room for the evening. Table very large so conversation with friends at other end of table tricky. Evening started with canapes and champagne or vodka cocktail (theme for the evening was winter wonderland - Russian theme). Not many Cossacks. Service at dinner was excellent along with wine flowing. Portions a tad small for the men but flavour superb. Fabulous fireworks at midnight. The dance quartet turned out to be a duo who I don't really feel engaged with anyone. However a lovely evening and magnificent start to 2014

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank jillim44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orestone, Owner at The Orestone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your review
We are very glad you enjoyed new years to give us 5 stars. The staff who gave up there new years eve worked hard to make sure everyone was given the service they expected, and I thank them for their commitment. It was also enjoyable to work on such a night and soak up the atmosphere of the special night and all the staff enjoyed it too.
The band we had booked from the previous year broke up and let us down we were lucky to find the duo at short notice on recommendation I understand if you were expecting a certain type of music indie Rock and you had Blues and covers from 60s and 70s then it is not the same. However many of the people who had attended last year with the Indie band thought the Duo more fitting and preferred them. I suppose its down to personal choice with music.
We will look at portions for men again for next year although we had to portion bearing in mind everyone was eating Canope's plus 4 courses including the Coffee and Petit fours.
Thanks for your feedback it has been useful
Look forward to welcoming you back soon
From Neil and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This beautifully renovated small country hotel is a real find, and conveniently close to Torquay and Teignmouth.
Our special autumn weekend dinner bed and breakfast deal was excellent value for many reasons: the bedroom was tasteful and very well-appointed, the service was better and more personalised than in considerably more expensive hotels, the sea views were an attractive bonus, and the lounge and bar areas welcoming and comfortable.
Although we did have to endure an unfortunate and recurring problem with very loud plumbing noise - which was dealt with badly at the time but subsequently rather well - we still enjoyed everything else, not least the relaxing surroundings, high quality service and some of the finest hotel food and wine we've had in a long time. Top quality ingredients, including wonderful beef, succulent scallops and fine sauces, were beautifully presented and carefully served. I'm writing this on the day the New Year Honours List was announced - and it would have come as no surprise if the Orestone chefs had been on it.
So, go, soon, and enjoy yourselves.

Room Tip: The eaves rooms are beautiful with great sea views, though the sloping ceilings do make for slightly reduced headroom and may bother folk taller than me.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandYUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were taken here as a treat by my parents for New Year and what a fantastic treat it was! Lovely, lovely hotel. The décor is 'quirky' (in a good way) and unique. We had rooms 6 & 7 - both great. As other reviewers have said the food is outstanding - even on New Years Eve we did not have to pre-order our food - it was all cooked fresh. The staff are absolutely lovely as well - so helpful and professional. Excellent attention to detail - eg when serving meals they knew who had asked for what even when they didn't take the order. The fireworks at midnight were amazing. Thank you all for a great night!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alcotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews