We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with lots of character”
Review of The Orestone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orestone Manor
Ranked #9 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with lots of character”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We arrived late on Friday night after phoning to explain our delay. Despite arriving gone 9pm we were offered a meal in the restaurant after unloading our bags. We settled for a light meal in the conservatory which they set up just for us. The service was perfect: friendly and courteous.
Our room was on the top floor, fine for us, but narrow stairs which may not suit everyone as there is no lift. We had a very quirky room with beamed, sloping ceilings which added to the charm. Plenty of room, yet cosy and appealing. Lovely corner bath and hot shower with sea views over the tree tops.
The location was ideal for us; Lovely walks down to quiet and undeveloped coves with welcome cafes. A steep climb back and lots of hills along the coastal path, but we love walking and enjoyed the serenity of the place.
The hotel grounds were well kept and included an outdoor pool for the warmer weather.
The hotel has lots of charm, was clean and comfortable. The owners had only been there for 5 weeks but were retaining much of the Edwardian character and are already upgrading. new mattresses have been installed and it is planned to open a bistro in the conservatory to complement the a la carte restaurant. Breakfast was served in the sunny dining room with plenty of choice and local produce, cooked to order.
Only disappointment was the fact that they had forgotten to make up our room on our first day by the time we returned from a strenuous walk at 5pm. This was quickly rectified. Our bedroom could have done with a fresh coat of paint, but it was evident that the new owners have plans to rejuvenate all areas of the hotel needing some TLC.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the top floor if narrow stairs or low/sloping ceilings could be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeCee13362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    69
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
346
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Devon, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We had exclusive use at The Orestone for our wedding on 20 August 2011. Well, what can we say except what an absolutely fantastic experience.

From our initial booking to the actual day, we couldn't fault anything. The staff couldn't do enough for us and when the hotel was taken over by new owners we were, at first, a little worried. However, we needn't have been. They went out of their way to help us.

A special thank you to Hayley, Tom and Laura who were excellent.

The food, the hotel, the overall experience was wonderful. We couldn't have asked for a better venue for our wedding.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We have just returned from a short break, we were made very welcome by all the staff our room had a lovely seaview albeit at the top of several flights of stairs (being a old building) no lifts available. The quality of the meals were second to none, the waiters were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Overall we were very impressed and would use this hotel again for a short, requesting the Horsey Room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Three nights at the Orestone Manor proved to me that there is still excellence to be found in the small hotel industry.

The new owner and his family are very much hands on, and visible. They seem to thrive on feedback. I liked the unobtrusive friendliness.

The rooms are pretty and, amazingly, with the windows open at night, not a sound to be heard...utter silence all night, in a very comfortable bed.

A hearty breakfast, in the large conservatory, overlooking the lovely country garden, set the days up.

The area is so rural yet only three miles from Torquay, with a frequent bus at the top of the lane. To top it all, there is a secluded beach at the bottom of the lane, with red sand!

The restaurant food was good, and they are obviously recovering from a previous poor reputation that the last owner failed to address. They are really making an effort.

I shall be back, again, again and again.

A gem.

Room Tip: You seem to get the best available anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonywp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
3.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
19.7 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
819 reviews
24.6 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
21.4 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orestone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orestone Manor

Property: The Orestone Manor
Address: Rock House Lane | Maidencombe, Torquay TQ1 4SX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orestone Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the coastal road from Torquay to Shaldon this Georgian retreat is set in landscaped gardens near Torquay and offers some of the finest accommodation and dining in South Devon. Stylishly refurbished as a Boutique Hotel, the Orestone provides comfortable, luxurious rooms, The New Brunel Lounge Bar, Lounge areas, Conservatory casual Dinning and an excellent main restaurant. Located in the rural village of Maidencombe on the fringe of Torquay, it has stunning views across the Torbay coastline and Lyme Bay. From from light bites, Afternoon Cream Teas, Lumches including locally caught fish and hand cut chips the choice is most satisfying. Alfresco dining can be enjoyed on the sun terrace with cracking menus and wonderful views. An award winning restaurant provides a little more sophistication for lunch or dinner if preferred! The terrace and conservatory are perfect places for an impromptu break from daily life, no need to dress up - casuals and walking boots welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Orestone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orestone Hotel Torquay
The Orestone Manor Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing