We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Friendly”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colindale Guest House
Ranked #72 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed June 18, 2009

I found that Barry and Sven were excellent hosts, extremely friendly and helpful, suggesting interesting places to visit and restaurants to go to, but also providing excellent evening meals when required. The rooms were decorated with care and always well maintained. The Hotel is situated in a quiet position ,close to the front and walking distance to the town centre. All in all it was a most enjoyable stay and will be visiting the Collindale in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesters1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 74 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2009

We stayed at the Colindale after I'd read the recommendations on Trip Advisor. The Colindale is simply charming. You receive a warm welcome from the owner Paul, and the lovely Sven is more than happy to go out of his way to make local recommendations (i.e. where to go for a nice dinner....which by the way, 'The Elephant' Brasserie was wonderful). The rooms are opulent and well decorated. I found the superior room very charming. The hotel was quiet and very peaceful. The breakfasts in the morning were wonderful, and you really felt well attended to. The location is close to the seafront and local attractions. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Torquay and especially The Colindale.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sessa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

As as Business Traveller, I am regularly staying in Hotels and Guest Houses around the UK. I found the Colindale a well presented, Friendly and excellent place to stay.

Barry and Sven were very friendly and hospitable. The breakfasts were excellent with well cooked and plentiful portions. The rooms are immaculate and pleasantly decorated. I found the entire stay enjoyable and will, without hesitation, try to stay again when work takes me too the Torquay area
MW

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickeyWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We had a very nice stay at the Colinadale, me, my husband and my parents. The house and the garden is beautiful. and the landlords were very kind and responsive.

The decoration is very cozy but a bit crowded for my liking. Different rooms are decorated with different colours and also there is a cat theme. They have a lovely, elegant cat. My mom who usually keeps her distance with cats and dogs really loved it.

Our rooms were at the top floor and had a nice view of the gardens, baloon and even the sea on one side. There was everything in the room that one would need. Everywhere was quite clean and warm. However the room smelled oil/food when they were cooking, at the breakfast time and just before dinner.

The other issue was the breakfast itself. Everything was available and the service was perfect. But the food quality was just average. It would be great (and the hotel deserves) to have fresh or squeezed orange juice and tasty local sausages really.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evrim78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

After a long and tedious drive from Lancashire for a five day break in Torquay, my wife, her sister and I were relieved to arrive at the Colindale and quickly discover the value of reading Tripadvisor reviews before booking a stay. The 5* reviews are deserved. On arrival, Barry the owner offered us tea and biscuits before we had dropped our suitcases and his thoughtfulness and attentiveness never waned for the duration of our stay. Both of our rooms were immaculately presented. The hotel is ideally located on a quiet avenue around the corner from Torquay railway station and is only a three minute walk from Torbay's seafront. My first of two complaints was being woken at ungodly hours by a vocal night owl but I can't blame Barry for that. During our stay, there were only ourselves and another couple booked into the hotel (although it was fully booked on the day we left preventing us extending our break a further night). Because we stayed at a time when there were few guests, Barry very kindly agreed, by prior arrangement, to cook us an evening meal on the Wednesday night. The meal comprised a chicken casserole and fresh vegetables followed by bread and butter pudding both of which were of the highest quality, better than any other meals we had elsewhere during our stay and for a fraction of their costs. So Barry is not just a super hotelier, raconteur and character in his own right but is also an accomplished chef who can compete with the very best. Needless to say his cooked breakfasts are excellent. This brings me to my second and final complaint for which I can blame Barry. He steadfastly refused to share his recipe for the bread and butter pudding.

A super place to stay. Can't commend it too highly.

Richard, Sandra and Maureen, Preston, Lancashire

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

From the perfectly manicured front garden its obvious this is no ordinary guest house.
The warmth of the host along with his staff; coupled with the luxurious surroundings make the Colindale an absolutely first class place to stay. It's conveniant for all local amenities and quality restaurants.
Our only complaint was that we didn't stay longer!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattnamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We stayed at Colindale Guest House for 4 nights in July and thoroughly loved the experience.

From the moment we arrived, Barry, the proprietor, made us feel very welcome, inviting us to relax and take tea in the sitting room. Our room, which was on the first floor overlooking the front garden, was well furnished and beautifully decorated.

It wasn't too long before we met his two Burmese cats, Thai and Mimi, giving us the seal of approval.

We arrived in Torquay by train and, just a short walk from the train station, we were there. Barry also recommended a trip to Dartmouth which we found to be another attractive place.

Barry is an excellent chef and you will savour his cooking served in such lovely surroundings.

Sitting in the colourful and well-kept garden was such an enjoyable experience. Sunny weather when we visited, made for a great stay.

We have no hesitation in recommending Colindale Guest House when you visit Torquay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeAndMarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,121 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colindale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colindale Guest House

Address: 20 Rathmore Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $67 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colindale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small charming very individual Victorian guest house in a quiet location very near to the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colindale Hotel Torquay
Colindale Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing