We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Vienna Restaurant

Old Vienna Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 332 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, European, British, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant with an Austrian Touch - Austrian Chef/Proprietor-Werner Rott and his team are here to look after customers with a smile and mostly locally sourced ingredient in casual surroundings - a small intimate Restaurant with just 22 Covers where the guest is treated like a friend 2015 Taste of the West South Devon Fine Dining Silver Award 2016 Taste of the West South West England Gold Award
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

My parents and sister have eaten at The Old Vienna on a number of occasions previously and as we had joined them on holiday, we all went on a Thursday evening at the end of July.

The restaurant has a lovely relaxed atmosphere with 2 waitresses who are truly delightful girls, courteous, friendly and efficient. Werner is a terrific host who yodels as he comes out of the kitchen to see diners as they are finishing desserts and coffee! My Dad and I took advantage of the free glass of schnapps offered by Werner who then chatted with us at our table after our meal. This lovely touch rounded off our evening perfectly.

The little freshly baked rolls served just before the meal were absolutely delicious. There is an excellent choice of food on the menu, all members of our party made different choices and each dish was thoroughly enjoyed.

The Old Vienna is charming, a real little gem of a place and I wish we could capture everything about the place and take it home with us to Sussex so we could dine there more often! I can quite see how it has achieved its No.1 spot and a 97% rating on Trip Adviser and cannot fault it in any way. Be absolutely sure to book though as it would be a real shame to miss out on dining here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank The Berrys x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    64
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must to visit whilst in Torquay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Visited restaurant after reading reviews, wasn't disappointed. Owner, waitresses welcoming and attentive and the food - brilliant!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We originally tried to dine at The Old Vienna two years ago but it was fully booked at the time!
On this occasion, we were in Torquay to celebrate our 10th Wedding Anniversary and booked a table well in advance. On arrival we were greeted by a very polite and attentive young lady who showed us to our table. We were then given a glass of complimentary champagne to celebrate our anniversary! The menu had enough variety to tantalise the palette and we were not disappointed with any of the meals/courses we chose. The food truly is wonderful and the atmosphere is very warm and comfortable. We cannot fault this restaurant and would recommend a visit if you are looking for somewhere special to dine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gemy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We booked by e-mail before going on holiday having researched on Trip Advisor. Our booking was confirmed by a pleasant and friendly e-mail from Werner, the owner and chef. We were determined not to be late and caught the bus from Babbacombe too early arriving before they opened. We were however ushered in, sat down and offered drinks and the menu with assurances that it was no problem at all. The restaurant is pleasingly small and seats around 20 people. The décor gives the impression of a special occasion whilst being comfortable and welcoming. The staff were wonderful as was the owner who came out to chat after he had finished cooking. The way we were treated and the standard of service really could not be bettered. And the food was magnificent! The menu was varied with something for every taste - the more imaginative and those who prefer to stick with what they know would all have been very happy. Have a look at the menu on the website rather than read my words for hours! Everything was cooked to absolute perfection. The meal was a real treat and we will certainly book again when holidaying nearby.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great authentic food and schnapps! Prosit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Small but beautifully formed restaurant with great local ingredients cooked in authentic Austrian style. Can be hard to find rabbit and a schnitzel made with veal rather than then usual pork on offer. Imaginative starters to suit all tastes. Venison and wild boar sausages with creamy sauerkraut to start, tasty. Veal with hollandaise looked and tasted good. Vegetarians imaginatively looked after with kohlrabi and authentic dumplings. Not a great pudding man but cherry pancakes with kirsch and chestnut ice cream were very toothsome. Mine host, Werner, is a local restaurant legend. He has passed his skills on to many local young chefs. Very good coffee to finish and the chance for a complimentary schnapps and chat with Werner. Go and spoil yourself!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulJ010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Vienna Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Old Vienna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing