We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Old Vienna Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 339 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant with an Austrian Touch - Austrian Chef/Proprietor-Werner Rott and his team are here to look after customers with a smile and mostly locally sourced ingredient in casual surroundings - a small intimate Restaurant with just 22 Covers where the guest is treated like a friend 2015 Taste of the West South Devon Fine Dining Silver Award 2016 Taste of the West South West England Gold Award
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Thank you to Werner & his wonderful staff for a lovely evening & dining experience ,The restaurant is quite small but very quaint & decorated very tasteful.The food was delightful and the menu very extensive,The advantage of it being small is Werner the owner/chef kept coming out of his kitchen to check on his customers, and wonderful he comes out to greet you on arrival and also when you leave with a shot of snaps,When ever we are back in Torquay me and my wife would 100% go back to visit Keith & Sue

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    68
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Should rank as one of the countrys leading restaurants”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I took my thirteen year old daughter here as a treat, we had a stunning meal, atmosphere was great, .We enjoyed venison and wild boar sausages with sauerkraut, deer with mushrooms, wiener schnitzel and a chocolate pot...we spoke of the food to all we met. I had been to the restaurant some 26 years ago it is still one of Torquys hidden gems.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Visited here on my birthday last Thursday and can't recommend it enough the food was first class and the service spot on Martyn

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dobson-Shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Toast of Torquay”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

After planning a romantic getaway to Torquay, we wanted to find a little place with good food and cosy atmosphere.
Having contacted the old Vienna and told they fully booked we were pretty disappointed, but when we received a call back to say that there was a cancellation we were thrilled.
The food was fantastic, the staff were friendly,,chatty and went beyond the call of duty to ensure we had a fab experience.
Would recommend this to everyone ...... The lamb is delicious

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Waltz for Dinner?”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were worried that parking might be a problem as the map showed Old Vienna to be very close to a main road. The trusty SatNav took us around the back streets to a pleasingly spacious area and we parked right outside. Once inside, we found the decor to be welcoming and comfortable with pleasant wait-staff to look after us. The menu was interesting and tempting and we weren't disappointed when the food arrived. Cooked well and very tasty.
The icing on the cake (so to speak) was Chef Verner's colourful arrival from the kitchen with his exuberance and cheerful manner, especially when he insisted that everyone should have a schnapps on him before they leave.

Helpful?
4 Thank Sl8rate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Vienna Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Old Vienna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing