We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cosy cottage with everything you'll need.”
other travelers have booked this property
Kents Cottage
Secure, private, sunny courtyard with patio furniture and BBQ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kents Cottage
Secure, private, sunny courtyard with patio furniture and BBQ
Courtyard garden
Secure, private, sunny. Off road parking if required.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
37 reviews
Kents Cottage
Secure, private, sunny courtyard with patio furniture and BBQ
Courtyard garden
Secure, private, sunny. Off road parking if required.
Kitchen
Gas hob, electric fan oven, fridge & small freezer, dishwasher
Extendable table seats 6
Bathroom
Powerful shower over bath, heated towel rail, step for little people!
Power shower over bath
Master Bedroom
Double bed, storage and space for travel cot
Twin bedroom
2 singles, storage and space for travel cot
Torre Abbey Sands
Beautiful sandy beach with watersports, bars & restaurants nearby
Meadfoot Beach 10 minute walk away, paddle boarding, diving, fab cafe
Torquay Seafront
crazy golf, tennis, bowls, kayaks & windsurfing
Living Coasts Marine Park
Great day out
Dartmoor National Park
Walking, hiking, adventure sports, pony trekking, ancient history
Torquay Marina by night
Surrounded by bars & restaurants
Boats trips, sailing, fishing
Torquay Pavillion and Princess Gardens in bloom. The fountain from 'Friends'...not really!
Kayaking on Meadfoot beach 10 min walk away. Parking & a café, beach huts for hire.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
gdl999
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage But Filthy!”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Firstly I must say its a Beautiful little cottage but on arrival I was horrified at the unclean state it was left in! If the owner has cleaners go in they need sacking! My Son and I spent 5 hours cleaning the place! Fat spatters all over the hob and walls! dishwaher inside black ledge with grease! and when we liftedthe rattan mat in the lounge in had rice biscuits and months of food waste! we had to bleach the bath and wash all the floors! purchasing cleaning equipment and mop etc! Bedding of poor quality and not ironed taken straight from tumble dryer as really creased! towels thin and grey so purchased our own towels! The other issue we had was on 3 mornings we were woken by bin men, delivery men and a resident asking us to move our car parked outside the cottage all at 8am in the morning hardly a Holiday.
Sorry but would NOT recommend this property or book it again
Mrs Lee Kent

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeley S
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A cosy cottage with everything you'll need.”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a very nice week at the cottage and found that they had everything you could wish for there. From animal products to baby utensils, cleaning stuff to fly spray and Playstation 2 to wii + many games for both, for those rainy days. The cottage was very cosy and clean and the heating worked fine. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cottage and the owner, Vicky, was always an email away if we needed anything and replied very quick.
The only problems as tiny as they were, was the shower hoes seemed to spray out at the base when you took the shower head of the hook, losing some of the power. The other problem was the stairs were quite squeaky which was a bit of a pain for people sleeping on the very comfortable sofa bed.

The area was very nice and accessible by car and foot. You can walk to either Torquay Harbour or Meadfoot Beach (local beach) in around 15 minutes at a very comfortable pace. Some things can cost quite a bit but if you like boats, you must take a boat trip which costs around £4 per person and is a wonderful experience. Kents Cavern was nice to visit and educational but you don't get to walk around on your own. You are guided the whole time so don't get long to take pictures, if you wanted to. Dawlish is a beautiful beach and a lovely location and not far from the cottage.

We would definitely like to spend time at the cottage, if we visited Devon again. One week wasn't enough time to see everything we wanted.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilandLe...
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay - highly recommend”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We (me, husband, 5yr old) have just returned for a week's stay at the cottage - if the weather had behaved I think this would have been one of our favourite holidays due in no small part to our lovely accommodation.
The cottage was roomy for 3. Great size and well equipped kitchen - more utensils, crockery, etc. than you would normally get in a holiday rental. Lovely shower and very comfy beds and the small toilet downstairs was really handy.
The courtyard was nice but unfortunately the rain meant that we didn't get to enjoy any of our meals/wine out there.
The area is really quiet and the shops just 2 mins round the corner so very convenient.
This was the most comfortable holiday rental we've stayed in and were we to visit Torquay again we would love to stay here.
If you need a curry at any point we would recommend Simla - they deliver and if you want some good quality pub food The Devon Dumpling is a couple of miles away and well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary S
Bury
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, quiet and well equipped.”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We met family here for a half term break and what a find. This cottage is well located for exploring the local areas an the children enjoyed the model village, Paignton Zoo, Island Coast and Plymouth Marine Aquarium. The well stocked Co-op is literally round the corner offering flexibility with meal planning and the Kents Inn welcomed the whole party, including a toddler and dog. The cottage was spotless with a secure garden/courtyard. We didn't have any difficulty parking and the children and dog could play outside safely, the stable door was ideal when the dog got too boisterous! Even though it was October we were able to eat outside at the table and bench set. My niece slipped on the stairs (purely accidental) and broke a bone in her foot so the downstairs toilet, DVD's and games were very welcome; we were able to hire a wheelchair locally to ensure we could all get out easily but it stopped us exploring the beaches. A good base for exploring the area. We'd love to stay here again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little home from home”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at Kents Cottage several times and have found it a very comfortable and well equipped holiday base. The location can't be faulted, close to shops, eateries and a great pub. There are beaches within walking distance, and there's also a handy bus route up to Babbacombe or down into Torquay centre.
Although the cottage is situated in a narrow mews, there is room to park the car securely in the courtyard, which is a great bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaine w
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage in a brilliant location as situated behind a row of shops including Deli/coffee shop, restaurant and good pub. Only down side is the parking as this is in the lane in front of the cottage and although it's meant to have one parking space open to others using it

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing