We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great friendly hotel!”
Review of Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #79 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great friendly hotel!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We just came back from a little break away in South Devon and stayed at this well run family hotel. We were greeted with large smiles and shown to our deluxe room, which was amazing. The food was brilliant as was the standard of waiting staff. We would love to stay again and certainly will next time we are in the area. The black pudding starter was simply divine!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    104
    62
    37
    46
See reviews for
45
169
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Another very good stay at The Anchorage.We have been comming here for a number of years.now.
Excellent value for money,very helpful and polite staff.
Good location overlooking the park.
Also a new and improved menu and choice in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I recently stayed at this Hotel with a group of friends and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. My room was bright , clean and comfortable and the food was reasonable and plentiful.
I do think something should be investigated regarding the horrible smell near to the lifts.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

After a one day stay to look at the hotel we decided to invite our members. 68 members turned up and they expressed their opinions by booking again for next year. No complaints, Staff efficient and very pleasant. Some even said the best weekend they have had in years.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliff114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

we had a nice break the hotel was very nice clean, the staff were very helpful and friendly food was good with more than two choices entertainment could of been better so we went out in the evening but it was early season, we could not fault anything the only negative comment i would make is about a waitress she may be getting on but a little smile on her face would not go a miss.

Room Tip: we had family room on first floor very quiet no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Hotel very good, for a two star rating. We can't see any justification for the issues raised in some of the reviews. Everything was clean and warm. Beds comfortable. Food was fine, if a bit basic and "traditional". Free wi-fi worked without any issues. Car park is too small for all guests but there is plenty of free on-road parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

we stayed here with just go holidays for a long weekend,after we booked we checked the tripadvisor for details and got a bit of a shock !! .but hey ho off we went,well what a lovely place ,the staff are so helpful and cheerful,the rooms good and clean,the food was fine,the bar was great with lots fun and singing,yes singing !!.I don,t know the guys that wrote the bad reviews but they were way off mark. all in all a good sound value for money hotel !!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.5 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#58 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#17 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Property: Anchorage Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing