We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #72 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

had a lovely stay at the Anchorage, my husband is disabled
and we chose a deluxe room, the management were very kind and gave us room 27 on the ground floor, very very nice room. the room was extremely spacious and very clean!
the atmosphere was magical, very festive.
it was a lovely time, thank you all

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robertlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    108
    63
    38
    46
See reviews for
47
174
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed here recently on a coach trip. On arrival the hotel looked good,how misleading. Our room was average but other guests on our trip were more unfortunate,dirty linen, filthy rooms. The worst part of the hotel is the dining experience,French stick to go with soup was cut by a razor blade,if you asked for extra the answer was No! Breakfast consisted of a small pot of tea for two if you could squeeze two cups out,bacon you could see through and about 10 baked beans with a sausage that got smaller as the days went on. If you run out of milk in your room you have to pay for extra which I have never experienced in any other hotel. Staff are ignorant, unpleasant and rude,even the manager. One evening I gave my dessert to a man on the next table as I didn't want it and he was starving, I left the dining hall only to be told later he was refused his dessert as he had eaten mine and wasn't allowed two. This hotel should be re-named the Oliver Twist, avoid this place if you have any sense!

Room Tip: A good room would be in another hotel!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Trachaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bideford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel on a 4 night coach tour. It has got to be the worst place I have ever stayed in my 87 year life. My room was so small, the drawers could not be opened without moving the bed, which I was unable to do. The room was hot as the sun was streaming in but I could not open the window as it was so rotten and distorted! I asked for somebody to come up and open it, 3 hours later, and another call to reception somebody finally came and forced the window open. When I complained about the time it had taken he said he was not superman! The food was appalling, not much of it, poorly cooked and the service was terrible. At breakfast I waited 45 minutes between the juice glasses being taken away and the cooked breakfast arriving. I was not allowed to have juice and cereal at breakfast, only one. The manager was particularly rude, obviously modelling himself on Basil Fawlty.
Everywhere is sad and tired, a complete refurbishment is urgently needed. My room was filthy and the basin was worn dull over the years. All the Formica, yes Formica, work top around the basin was chipped and broken. The shower didn't really work and when I complained about anything I was treated as a trouble maker and nothing was done.
I was on a coach tour so could not move to another hotel, however I would advise everybody to avoid this place, it is shocking and made Fawlty Towers look like the Ritz. You have been warned!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed in this hotel recently for 5 days, the decoration and cleanliness needs upgrading. At meal times the service was bad. When I put a simple requset to the staff (can we have another pot of tea) they said it was not possible because of the cost of teabags!!!, so we had to share a pot of tea for one between two people. We had to share a small amount of veg between to people that is really only enough from one person, so meals wern't filling at all. The in house entertainment was outdatetd on oine night the singer was amturish (karioke). When I complained at the hotel they did not help at all they did nothing. In my opioin it's not worth the petrol or time to go to this hotel until they bring thier hotel into the 21st century, and put their customers first.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I recently stayed at this Hotel for 3 days. Looked impressive from the outside, but the room was dreadful.There was paint peeling off the wall under and to the side of the window. The window had black condensation mold around the pains,, and frame. The bathroom also had black mold around the shower screen, and behind the toilet. There were also dead wood lice on the floor. I asked for a change, but was told ´no spare rooms as fully booked´. I could not go to another Hotel as I was on a Coach Tour, and was forced to suffer the embarrassment of having to call the Manager on several occasions as the toilet would not flush, I was told ´they were experiencing some trouble with toilets flushing´! The shower was a dribble, it was impossible to have a proper shower, and I was forced to wash my hair in the wash basin, using a plastic cup to obtain water from the tap to wet & rinse my hair. Then when I thought things could not get any worse I was refused a vegetarian sausage with bacon and poached egg for breakfast. Meals were small, vegetables were very overcooked and for the most part tasteless. On the plus side, the roast potatoes tasted great! Would I stay here again? Never!

Room Tip: Don´t have No. 14 it´s next to the stairs, and people coming from Bar/Lounge area at all hours don´t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the hotel, with my parents, for two nights 7-9th February. We had stayed here previously but 19 years ago! Our checking in was speedy with a pleasant gentleman receptionist. My parents were advised of their room number as were we. The first room my parents were given was of average size with a walk in shower as requested; however we had not requested a fan which took 20 mins plus to switch off! My dad went back to reception ( different receptionist) and was eventually shown another room right next to the bar (noisy), he declined this room and was told that they would have to see if another room was available. Shown Room 34 which they accepted but no walk in shower and was very 'compact'! Next day they saw their view was a brick wall! We also discovered that the hotel was not full.

We had a larger room (60) with a very small radiator blocked by a single bed; it was very cold, especially at night when heating was off. Also the room was only surface clean, when you looked at skirting board (black with dirt) and pedestal of wash basin (streaky black marks) and lumps of fluff on floor - cleanliness was definitely an issue.

Breakfast was OK but with limited choice i.e. cereal or fruit juice but not both - full English looked good but not something I am able to eat. Evening menu again gave limited choice with unusual mix of veg to go with dishes; house red was definitely not to our taste (sweet).

On the plus side - staff (although few in number) were very friendly and obliging; drinks were cheap in the bar at 99p each.

We had looked forward to this visit but won't be going back again in a hurry, not even another 19 years methinks!

Room Tip: Room 60 overlooking pool is not good in winter, chilly; Room 34 is like shoe box with view of a bric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was an excellent hotel, the staff were extremely friendly as was the service. There was a good choice of menu and it was all served with a smile to the table. Evening entertainment was great. The location was perfect for exploring and the small town was a real find. We even managed to walk down to the sea and climb back up, rewarding ourselves with a pint in a local pub. The only thing I would point out was the lack of glasses in the room - they were plastic, but we bought some in a charity shop and returned them at the end of our stay. All in all a great long weekend break that I would highly recommend

Room Tip: Probably a room upstairs would be quieter as very creaky floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 87 in Torquay
358 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#31 of 87 in Torquay
113 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#54 of 87 in Torquay
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Property: Anchorage Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing