We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #80 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Only stayed one night but from checking in with the extremely helpful gentleman on reception, this was a pleasure, offer of help with my bag, nothing was too much trouble. Dinner was excellent. Checking out was a breeze, the staff were very efficient and dealt with everyone quickly. An Excellent Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    100
    57
    35
    45
See reviews for
43
160
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
abingdon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very comfortable and well located hotel near the Babbacombe Downs. A great view and a nice start for walks along the cliffs and the sea. The room was well furbished with beds that are very comfortable and the overall equipment is of very good quality. The restaurant proposes very good quality food. On the areas for improvement, the corridors needs a bit of a refresh. The breakfast is good with large choice of traditional warm English breakfast and of continental proposals.

Room Tip: We were given the opportunity to upgrade and we did and we were very pleased we did. The extra £15 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here as a couple on Monday 11th Feb, Really nice hotel in a great location we had a room on the top floor over looking the pool, The rooms are spacious and the bed was comfy and the pillows lovely and soft. All the staff we met were very helpful and polite, Another good thing is the the hotel has a large car park.
We did not eat at the hotel in the evening as we were just B&B but the evening menu looked and smelt very nice and the Breakfast which we had was lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in this Hotel & I have to say, I wasn't disappointed. The room was spotless, the hotel staff were so helpful & the food was just lovely! The only downside was that I wasn’t able to go in the outdoor pool, but I suppose it was February!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEMMA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swanage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and have always had a superb time. The staff are very welcoming and helpful particularly the staff on reception and in the restaurant at breakfast. The hotel is so convenient for Torquay. You can enjoy Babbacombe & St Marychurch and Torquay is just a 5 min bus ride away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TREHERBERT
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

First time to stay here and we will return rooms were clean and well equipped the breakfast was excellent the food was fresh and hot. The rooms were warm and comfortable and very quiet so a good night sleep was no problem. The beach was only 5 minutes away with great views of the coastline. The entertainment wouldn’t have been my choice but I have to say everyone else seemed to enjoy it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SALLY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed over with my family from 1st to the 3rd of February, with our main purpose of our stay to attend A friends wedding nearby. We arrived at the Anchorage at approximately midday on friday, and to my great surprise, our room was ready and waiting for us! We stayed in a family room, which had plenty of room for the 4 of us armed with 4 big suitcases. Generally we had a great weekend, and the Anchorage was a nice place to relax after the big days we had. All the staff were great, didnt eat dinner as ate out with family and friends but the breakfasts were perfect. The Anchorage definitely did the job!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STACEY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Property: Anchorage Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing