We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for price”
Review of Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #72 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
truro
2 reviews
“Good for price”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

My wife and i booked out today after 4 nights DBB for a very reasonable price of £19.50 pppn.
Accommodation was basic (as expected) but clean. Food was v good.
Only negative points were a dour waitress and being woken each morning around 0700 to the sound of the previous nights empty bottles being tipped into a large wheelie bin below our window.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not over the kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    108
    63
    38
    46
See reviews for
47
174
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We have been to Babbacombe many times as we love the area, but have not found a decent hotel in almost 15 yrs of trying. We saw the Anchorage advertised in a National Paper and decided to book as the website looked great. It was a great, and we will be returning without a doubt.
The room was very clean and roomy, the choice on the menu for both breakfast and evening meals was upto to 3/4 star quality. The lounge we think had just been refurbished and was looking very relaxing indeed, great decor and furniture.
Thankyou to the Anchorage, as we now feel we can return to Babbacombe once again.

Room Tip: We didnt stay in a deluxe but they looked very very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IAN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

In our opinion The Anchorage is particularly suited to people like us (in our late 50's) as breaks are affordable. Other guests were very friendly and helped make our stay really enjoyable. Room clean, comfortable and well serviced.The bathroom was small but perfectly adequate. Friendly relaxed stay and hotel well situated and ideal to explore Babbacombe. Food absolutely fine and plenty of choice to suit us at all meals. The soup was outstanding. Staff in restaurant young, attentive, helpful and pleasant. We would certainly stay again. A lovely stay at a budget price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apoppy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Was a bit doubtfull what hotel would be like,but no need to have worried,newly refubished room 3 was lovely,food faultless,staff were very helpfull, nothing was too much trouble for the manager.would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Just arrived home after a three night stay at the Anchorge coul not fault The bedroom was very clean and tidy bed very comfortable Bathroom nice and clean and a brilliant shower could no fault the evening meal nor the breakfast.The staff were also very helpfull and polite would cerainly recomend the anchorage

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swj90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Just had a 3 day stay at this hotel in their deluxe room. The room was great however the standard of the food left a bit to be desired.
A very cheap standard of breakfast, and well the evening meal was of a very poor standard, probably better to go bed and breakfast and eat out.

Room Tip: Certainly choose the deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brianbartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We booked in response to an advert in the newspaper paying just £33 per night for bed, breakfast and evening meal. The food was well presented and could not be faulted. We had a side view room which did not bother us as we were only using it for sleeping.
There are several buses each hour into Torquay with connections to Paington and Brixham so we did not need to use the car.
Evening entertainment was typical of coach holiday hotels (music for dancing etc) catering for the older age range.
Only real downside and disappointment was when we were rudely kept waiting at reception for seven or eight minutes while the receptionist entered several seperate data items into a computer. All the other staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Overall it was good value for the money

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bolero-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,181 reviews
1.9 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#58 of 87 in Torquay
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 87 in Torquay
358 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#34 of 87 in Torquay
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#53 of 87 in Torquay
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Property: Anchorage Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing