We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean hotel”
Review of Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #72 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good clean hotel”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We just spent an enjoyable four day break at the Anchorage Hotel they were very polite and helpful we had a nice twin bedroom very clean and tidy the good food not rushed at meals the day we left we could leave the car their untill we were ready to leave later in the day we have booked another four day break later in September.

Room Tip: All the rooms we've had been good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astralaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    108
    63
    38
    46
See reviews for
47
174
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Have just come back from a great 'stay-cation' at the Anchorage in Babbacombe. I saw an advert in the national press and thought, at that price its worth a go! I had a wonderful room overlooking the pool. We spent most of my time by the pool, which was beautifully clean and rarely used, we had it almost all to ourselves most days. The staff were all very pleasant and attentive and the food was good too.

All in all I can't fault it and shall be booking again next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
438 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Lovely hotel with great staff - well localed a short stroll from Babbacombe downs and Oddicombe Beach. Entertainment (quality) most nights and the food is excellent (good choice too!) It may only be a 2w star property... but this is a sad under-rating in my mind!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulnpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Clean smart hotel in Babbacombe, Torquay. It is used regularly by the coach firm who organised the trip i went on.
Friendly helpful staff, meals are served quickly with no fuss in a nice dining room, at tables varying in size from seating 2 to 6 people.
There is a bar with a dance floor, and lots of comfy armchairs to use while watching the evening's entertainment which varies each night. Although i could hear the singing in my room which was above the bar, it was not particularly loud and stopped about 11 pm so there was no problem in getting to sleep.
My twin bed room was spacious, though i only wanted a single and as they were all taken i had to pay an extra £15 per night. The room had a view over the flat roof, and the
bowling green across the road. It had plenty of storage space, en-suite bathroom, tea making facilities, clock/radio and hairdryer.
The only problem i had was using the stairs, as i have limited mobility. As the brochure said there was a lift i didn't request a ground floor room, but it turned out that only one side of the building had a lift, and i was in the wrong side. Luckily i was on the first floor not the second, and although it took a long time i was able to manage them. Several of the other guests had the same problem, so next time we will book ground floor rooms.
As well as the bowling green there are tennis courts across the road, and several parks within a five minute walk. The hotel is also within walking distance of Babbacombe Model Village.
Smoking is not allowed in the building or even in the grounds, but there is a wall mounted ashtray beside the entrance.
There is also a swimming pool but as i didn't use it i can't give any details about it.
Well thought out disabled toilet on the ground floor.
Unable to comment on the value as i don't know how much it cost per night. It was included in the price of the trip.
Choice of dishes for breakfast and dinner, good food, vegetarian options available.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GillEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Really enjoyed my three day break at the Anchorage Hotel. The room was nice and comfortable, spotlessly clean. The breakfast and evening meal excellently served and enjoyed and all lovely staff. The evening entertainment was good. Will be returning in the future. A peaceful, pleasant location, just a few minutes walk to the sea. Thanks to everyone at the Anchorage Hotel for a great time!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philthewizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Nice ,well run hotel,used in the main during my visits by elderly coach parties, but served me well as a base as on business nearby, the rooms were clean but the decoration could do with a facelift, but when you consider what you are paying it is excellent value, the meals are with some choice and served quickly and efficiently, the reception staff are helpful and polite ,and at times there is evening entertainment laid on. Makes a change from the chain hotels where the rooms are identical and when you wake you could be anywhere in the country, there is a pool but I did not use it as it was too cold during my visit. some families stayed while i was there and seemed to enjoy their stay, being in Babbacombe away from the busy area of Torquay was good as there was no night time rowdyness and was easily accessible by car or bus,

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jabswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We have recently returned from a four night break at the Anchorage Hotel. Our room was quite large and spacious, though I think one or two others are quite small. It was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, although it is served on a rather small plate, which means things are piled on top of each other. A larger plate would be much better. We had quite a good 3 course evening meal, with four choices for each course. In general the food was good though, for me, one or two of the meals were a little bland. For the price we paid, we felt we had value for money. The hotel is about 5 mins walk from a bus route, which is very useful. We used the buses to go into Torquay and from there on to Paignton, Brixham and Plymouth. We also went to Teignmouth in the other direction.
All in all, I would recommend the Anchorage for a short break, giving value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ambidextrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.1 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 87 in Torquay
358 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#31 of 87 in Torquay
113 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#54 of 87 in Torquay
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Property: Anchorage Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing