We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great w/end had by all.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #77 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great w/end had by all.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

good time had by all,staff very friendly and helpfull . evening entertainment good.owner and manager both in attendance. will be staying here again. keith bristol

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keithtina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    104
    60
    37
    45
See reviews for
45
165
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

stayed for five days with ogdens travel,had a very nice room on the ground floor,beds comfortable though a little creaky.the food was good ,and our waitress was great ,very friendly and efficent.we enjoyed our stay and would certainly go there again

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muzzaMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

I can't believe the review i have just read about the 'Manager Absent'. My wife and I stayed at the Anchorage Hotel, as we do 3 times a year, the same time as the so called 'Manager Absent' incident. I have never seen grown men behave the way they did. It was embarrasing to watch, we have never witnessed anything like that at the hotel before. the staff did as much as they could but when you deal with grown men who let themselves down from drinking too much alcohol and having too much male bravado then what do you expect! We will be returning to the Anchorage where we have made nice new friends and have experienced some great times in the Lounge with lovely people in a friendly warm environment. The staff are great at the Hotel, especially the waiting staff who look after us very well. My wife is Diabetic and when we walk into the Dining Room there is some warm toast waiting on the table for us. What more could you ask for. One of our friends had heard about the comments on Tripadvisor and told us, hence the long review on this wonderful Hotel. Like i have already said we go there often, it's like our second home!! We shall return!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevorjBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

would have canceled my stay if i had believed some of the reviews, we stayed for 4 days in january, staff were fantastic, rooms were clean, and the food was good, plenty of choice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyandalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

Travelled down to the Anchorage just for their Sunday Lunch, great choice of food all fresh and cooked well, great atmosphere, enjoyed it so much decided to stay the night and sample dinner and breakfast., both were as good as lunch.
Great job keep going!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

Firstly we would like to congratulate the staff and Family (as it is a family run hotel) for there efforts over the New Year break we had, on arrival we were met with smiles and manners, most of which in other other hotels you simply dont get any more, so thank you. Accomodation was excellent could not fault anything.
The food was top class, every meal from breakfast to lunch through to dinner was carefully planned and beautifully presented and (HOT). The entertainment was great, something for everyone.
This was our first visit and we were blown away by this hotel, how can it be a 2 star?
We have already booked again for this February and Next new Year, again Thank you to the Anchorage.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncp1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

My wife and I stayed for a long weekend at the end of November for a tinsel and turkey festive break. Food excellent, entertainment fabulous, staff friendly, hotel warm and welcoming. Have stayed here for many years and have always enjoyed our stay. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel without reservation to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L9TWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.5 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#56 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,592 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#16 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Property: Anchorage Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Anchorage Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing