We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING SHOW!!!”
Review of Babbacombe Theatre

Babbacombe Theatre
Ranked #2 of 62 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A valuable asset to the English Riviera for nearly eighty years, the Babbacombe Theatre in Torquay, is renowned for wowing audiences with their highly-acclaimed variety shows, performed throughout the year by a professional cast. There is ‘Magic to Do’ as the all new family show Magic of the Stars opens its doors for the 2017 season at the celebrated venue. Colin Matthews, the show’s producer and director won the Herald Express’s, ‘Outstanding Contribution to Tourism’ Award during his 30th year at the venue in 2016. He now has a legacy to maintain, therefore ‘just for you’ he and the shows cast, invite you to join them on a two-hour journey that promises to ‘warm your heart’. ‘Humour handled by a master’ is very much in the hands of the host and headlining showman, Steve Laister. Others with, ‘parts to perform’ is divine diva, Lindsey Collard, West End actress Gail-Marie, the British Magical Champion of Illusion, Daniel Dean, the effervescent Wayne ‘Champagne’ Martin, Danze Magique, our sensational dancers and finally six youngsters we like to call the Rock Starz! Combined this cast will undoubtedly leave you with a lasting impression. Magic of the Stars features extracts from Broadway and West End shows, has hit songs that span seven decades, numerous classic comedic sketches as well as inspirational lighting, costume design, choreography, and musical arrangements. There will be no other, ‘Night Like This’ in the Bay, so if you want to enjoy a magical and memorable evening of extraordinary entertainment at Devon’s No.1 theatre (as rated by TripAdvisor), then this show will not disappoint. Check the venues website for details on all the other shows programmed for 2017 or contact the Box Office.The theatre has, Access for wheelchair users with an accessible toilet, Wheelchair spaces & Loop System
Paignton
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING SHOW!!!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Well Babbacombe Theatre have produced yet another amazing summer show! The opening show last night was a complete hit! So many talented people all together on one stage producing a show of an exceptional standard. Hilarious comedians had the audience crying with laughter with their originitity! Breath taking vocalists raising the roof with their powerful voices.The incredibly talented illusionist with many tricks up his sleeve! The stunning and highly energetic dancers dazzling the stage along with lastly but no mean least ...Trix - the adorable four cute kids!! Definately the best show yet! NOT TO BE MISSED!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahEd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabbacombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear SarahEd75.

Your support for the venue is much appreciated as are your generous comments and 5 star review. Its nice that you picked up on the originality of our comedic segments of the show and it was nice that our little ones- the TRIX KIDS - got a shout out to! All of the cast have worked tirelessly to deliver another production that stands up to the standard we have set ourselves. I think everyone has raised their gain this year and I hope people reading your review will be inspired to come along and enjoy an evening of entertainment at our lovely venue, here on the beautiful Babbacombe Downs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    118
    24
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Well done to everyone involved in "Fantasy" at The Babbacombe Theatre. Superb variety entertainment. Colourful costumes, fab variety acts, a totally all round entertaining show . Lost in a "land of Make believe " for 2 hours :-) just what the doctor ordered :-) well done everyone

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elainemariejohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabbacombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Elainemariejohnson

Many thanks to you for your complimentary comments for our all new show, 'Fantasy' and your 5 star review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your evening with us and that you got " Lost in The Land of Make Believe".

All of us involved with the new show feel very grateful for your support. We always get a buzz when we see local residents have come to the venue to enjoy an evening of ENTERTAINMENT...Lets hope your review will encourage other locals who have not as yet experienced the Babbacombe Theatre to come along so we can ENTERTAIN them too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantasy is fantastic”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Best variety show I've seen so far at Babbacombe theatre, the show from start to finish was amazing. There are a lot of very talented people who have obviously worked very hard to put on such a brilliant performance. Well done to everyone who made this show happen!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sandysilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabbacombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear sandysilva

You are our first review for this seasons all new show FANTASY and we could not be happier with your lovely comments and 5 stars. Thank you very much on behalf of everyone involved in the production for your support. It is much appreciated. We hope we may get to ENTERTAIN you again during the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great afternoon of quality entertainment”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We went to the Christmas show, which contained a wide variety of song, dance and comedy which was very well scripted produced and presented. The cast were all clearly talented and produced a very polished performance. Would go back again any time I was in the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabbacombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Ashley T

Thank you very much, most especially from the production team of Christmas Stars for your generous comments and 5 star review.

We do agree with you, there was a very talented cast giving polished performances, and it is down to them that our production, Christmas Stars, was such a success.

We hope when you visit us again, you will enjoy the experience as much, if not more the second time around?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Happy New Year”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had such a wonderful time at this little theatre. The show was excellent from start to end. The dancers and comedians were brilliant and the atmosphere was great. We will definitely visit again in the near future.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank janmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabbacombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Janmart

What a host of lovely compliments. Everyone involved with the Babbacombe Theatre and the cast of Christmas Stars are extremely grateful for your comments and 4 star review.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, so we can ENTERTAIN YOU again! A very HAPPY NEW YEAR to you to, sorry it is a bit late...we have all been pretty busy preparing for our all new show, Fantasy opening on Tuesday 11th February.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babbacombe Theatre also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Babbacombe Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing