We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westend Encore- Lily is the real star”
Review of Babbacombe Theatre

Babbacombe Theatre
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A valuable asset to the English Riviera for nearly eighty years, the Babbacombe Theatre in Torquay is renowned for wowing audiences with their highly-acclaimed variety shows, performed throughout the year by a professional cast. How to make your Christmas Crackers? It’s essential you have something colourful, preferably with some sparkle to wrap them with, jokes and trinkets to insert, and lastly but most importantly that little something that goes pop! The Babbacombe Theatre promises you all you will need, to ensure this yuletide season, your festive celebrations include the very best box of ‘Christmas Crackers’ for you to enjoy with your family and friends. For details of all other shows programmed at one of Devon’s top theatres (as rated by TripAdvisor), for 2018/19, please refer to the venues website. The theatre has, access for wheelchair users with an accessible toilet, wheelchair spaces & Loop System.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a show! Stand out performances by Barry and Geri in the 'Spamalot' section which had me laughing out loud, and Lisa's rendition of 'I dreamed a dream' was amazing but I have to say that Lily was the star of this show. She was better than anyone up there, so captivating to watch and a better voice than most adults I have heard.
Slight criticisms is that the opening could have done with a bit more enthusiasm from the girls, the dance moves didn't not match their great voices, but it doesn't stop this show from getting full marks from me.

1  Thank star_shine06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabbacombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear star_shine06.

Thank you very much for your super review for the show West End Encore! As you so rightly state, Lily is a real star. We are so very proud of her outstanding achievements and delighted she is a part of this show.
This show's emphasis is definitely the vocals, and as you so rightly say there are several stand out performances from the small but nevertheless talented cast. Your 5 star review and complimentary comments are most welcome and all of us involved with the production are grateful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"west end"
in 61 reviews
"christmas show"
in 42 reviews
"steve laister"
in 34 reviews
"singers and dancers"
in 20 reviews
"great singing"
in 9 reviews
"opening night"
in 17 reviews
"wonderful night"
in 8 reviews
"excellent entertainment"
in 9 reviews
"star of the show"
in 8 reviews
"two hours"
in 8 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 27 reviews
"value for money"
in 19 reviews
"comedy"
in 113 reviews
"cast"
in 134 reviews
"spellbound"
in 53 reviews
"audience"
in 57 reviews
"performance"
in 62 reviews
Filter

635 - 639 of 800 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

went to see Spellbound and although I expected coach trips of oap's I didn't think the show was totally catered towards this. The jokes were all about elderly people and the scenes childish at times. It was disjointed and had no flow. The operatic singers were very good though but it would be followed by a silly sketch. Second half improved slightly that's all. the couple of magic acts were average. One thing I wasn't and that was spellbound

1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabbacombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Alison B.
We were disappointed to read your visit to our venue did not meet your expectation, and the show Spellbound, not to your liking.
The comedy in our show is usually what is complimented the most from the visitors we have had this season. The older generation love a bit of self deprecation and the youngsters usually find the humour amusing. It is a family show and as well as our regular coach parties we cater to the family market. I have lost count to how many children under 16 have been so far this year. We find the visual antics of the comedians is what appeals the most for the youngsters. The comedic content has no bad language or anything smutty that could offend.
Its refreshing to know though you enjoyed the vocalists. They are all very talented and feel sure they will appreciate you singled them out as being your highlight of the show.
We run two shows during the season, whilst Spellbound is a variety show, West End Encore features show-stopping hits from current West End Musicals. If you visit the Bay again, I am sure we will be producing similar in 2014, you may find the Musical show more appealing and to your taste.
We are grateful when you visited the Bay that you came along to support our venue. As an unsubsidised theatre, its paramount to our viability, that we have and maintain a strong audience base. We hope to please next time around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

returned to babbacombe theatre again this year another excellent show singers dancer and comedy fantastic a must when staying at torquay

1  Thank durhamtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabbacombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Durhamtwo.

So pleased you came back for more after your visit in 2012. All of us are chuffed that you enjoyed your second visit as much as your first. Your lovely 5 star review is very complimentary and the fact you make mention to other readers it is a 'must see show', is the very best endorsement we could ask for, thank you!
We shall look forward to welcoming you back in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Excellent show. Well worth a visit. Laughed all through. Costumes were brill, the dancers were very polished. The singing was very good.

Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabbacombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Dorothy D.

Thank you so very much for stating in your lovely 5 star review that you thought the show was "Excellent" & " Well worth a visit"

It is always appreciated by all of us involved with the show Spellbound to read such super comments, its good for our egos! Mine was especially flattered as you mentioned the costumes specifically and as I personally am responsible for costuming the show. So from me to you :)

Your support for our venue is most welcome and we hope if you visit the Bay again you will give us the opportunity to ENTERTAIN YOU again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were picked up and returned to the hotel free of charge, the show was really good, very funny I laughed so much I was crying,the songs music and costumes were lovely too.

Thank Mavisrileyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabbacombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Mavisrileyengland.

It appears we managed to achieve our ultimate goal... WE MADE YOU LAUGH!!

Thank you for supporting us here at the Babbacombe Theatre and for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are especially delighted you felt your visit to us was worthy of a 5 star review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babbacombe Theatre also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Babbacombe Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing