We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“entertaining show for 2013”
Review of Babbacombe Theatre

Babbacombe Theatre
Ranked #2 of 63 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A valuable asset to the English Riviera for nearly eighty years, the Babbacombe Theatre in Torquay, is renowned for wowing audiences with their highly-acclaimed variety shows, performed throughout the year by a professional cast. There is ‘Magic to Do’ as the all new family show Magic of the Stars opens its doors for the 2017 season at the celebrated venue. Colin Matthews, the show’s producer and director won the Herald Express’s, ‘Outstanding Contribution to Tourism’ Award during his 30th year at the venue in 2016. He now has a legacy to maintain, therefore ‘just for you’ he and the shows cast, invite you to join them on a two-hour journey that promises to ‘warm your heart’. ‘Humour handled by a master’ is very much in the hands of the host and headlining showman, Steve Laister. Others with, ‘parts to perform’ is divine diva, Lindsey Collard, West End actress Gail-Marie, the British Magical Champion of Illusion, Daniel Dean, the effervescent Wayne ‘Champagne’ Martin, Danze Magique, our sensational dancers and finally six youngsters we like to call the Rock Starz! Combined this cast will undoubtedly leave you with a lasting impression. Magic of the Stars features extracts from Broadway and West End shows, has hit songs that span seven decades, numerous classic comedic sketches as well as inspirational lighting, costume design, choreography, and musical arrangements. There will be no other, ‘Night Like This’ in the Bay, so if you want to enjoy a magical and memorable evening of extraordinary entertainment at Devon’s No.1 theatre (as rated by TripAdvisor), then this show will not disappoint. Check the venues website for details on all the other shows programmed for 2017 or contact the Box Office.The theatre has, Access for wheelchair users with an accessible toilet, Wheelchair spaces & Loop System
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“entertaining show for 2013”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went to the show on Weds night this week and had a great time - lots of variety, good singers, comedians, illusionist, and dancers. Interesting song choices weren't always the most obvious ones! Plenty of costume changes and kept up a good pace so it did not flag at any point. Comedians were my favourite part of it. Good value and worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabbacombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Veejayw. Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review on TripAdvisor and most especially for drawing attention to the fact that Spellbound is good value night out. Your 5 stars is a real confidence boost to all involved in this relatively new production. We have now been open for 3 weeks and have many more weeks ahead of us. The show is running weekly now, every Tuesday & Wednesday until Oct 23rd, with a matinee programmed in for the very first time in our summer season on Wednesday 10th July at 2.30pm.
We love the fact you had a " Great Time" with us and hope if you are ever back in the Bay we may have the pleasure of your company again?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    119
    25
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“" SPELLBOUND "”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

On Wednesday evening 20th February, I took my daughter along to watch SPELLBOUND, another Incredible show from Matthews Productions.

Being a Local Retired Entertainer, I get much delight going to Babbacombe theatre to see these colourful and wonderfully produced Shows.

SPELLBOUND is no exception, with an incredible line of talent.

The Wonderful Dancers, the Vocals of the Two Females Keedie and Stephanie Blacker were fabulous. Paul Cobley with his Awesome Powerful Voice, and great delivery, as well as his humour, along with Dean Winters, a very Talented Individual, very funny and also a great vocalist. The Extremely Talented Illusionist Daniel Dean, and the Fantastic Comedy from Phil Lowen, made this Show and Production a great evening.

Congratulations to Matthews Productions, the Staff at the Theatre, and the Cast for making this an evening to remember.

This is a Show I would Recommend you make the effort to see, I assure you that you will have a Super Evening out.

Bob Vaughan
Local Resident.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BabbacombeTheatre, General Manager at Babbacombe Theatre, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much Robert for your lovely review. It was especially nice because it was our first for Spellbound on TripAdvisor and what a way to start a season with a local supporter recommending the show and giving us 5 Stars. I cannot help think I hope it is the first of many for 2013!
Local support is always appreciated as so many people who live in the area have the misconception that our venue is only for visitors to the Bay. I can assuredly say that our shows are produced for anyone that wants a fun evening of quality entertainment, where the varied programme is compiled to ensure there is something for everyone, whatever age, gender or nationality they might be.
We are looking forward to producing shows for many more seasons to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Christmas Show”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great show something for everyone and reasonably priced. Helpful staff and nice little theatre. Very much enjoyed the show. Not very good for parking but thats the only fault.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sudawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of many good shows we have seen here”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have been to the theatre several times before. It's great for adults and couples, but some of the jokes just would not be understood by young children. To quote Andy Oakley (one of the show stars) "It's all clean when it leaves the stage, what you do with it in your head is up to you."

Parking is limited near this theatre, but I would book again for next year, no problem.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“sea side fun”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

on a very weather beaten afternoon good english entertainment........................................................

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank keith e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babbacombe Theatre also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Babbacombe Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing