We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice pub, beautiful area”

The Thatched Tavern
Ranked #31 of 339 Restaurants in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, nice pub, beautiful area”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice, traditional pub in a lovley area. Slightly tricky drive to get to area (narrrow country lanes during the last two miles of the approach). Booked table in advance and asked for a nice table with a nice view as it was my birthday. Unfortunately, when our party of seven got there, the table they gave us was in a dungeon-like basement corner. They informed that they could not serve children during evening in the main dining area (so families beware if you want to eat here in the evening unless you want to eat al fresco outside or below in the "dungeon"! Service was not very good, because after getting initial drink orders served, it took waitress quite awhile to come back down to our table to get main course orders, which eventually took almost 50 minutes to be served, a bit awkward given that the pub was not very busy. Alas, the food was very nice and tasty and the portions were decent. Overall, it is a nice pub that serves good food, but the service is somewhat
disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scatignani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    101
    36
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Went for a meal here, on a Thursday evening. Quite busy for midweek. The staff were friendly and welcoming and we did not encounter any of the staff problems other reviewers have mentioned. The pub is gorgeous and I really liked the decor in the main restaurant -(reminded me of a beautiful pub in Canada I've been to) and was light and airy. I suppose it depends on taste. From the time of ordering up to receiving the food, it was about 45 minutes and have to admit to getting a bit impatient as was so hungry ! However, when the food came, it was very nice and clearly home made and so the wait then seemed insignificant. I had fish cakes which I thought were tasty, husband had the lamb special which he said was very good and our guests had scampi and the pie -both commented how nice it was. Puddings followed and I have to say their sticky toffee pudding was fantastic ! The only downside was nothing to do with pub, but a very annoying women at another table who liked the sound of her own voice !!
Overall lovely meal and were left very happy and full ! We will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonesy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

An old thatched cottage perched on the side of a lane leading down to the beach. There is a near by council car park.
We have been visiting this pub for many years under different managements and the current owners seem to have most things right.
It is not cheap although they do different pies for under £10 which are good value. Other meals are £10 and up averaging I would think about £15.
The gardens are a lovely feature and you cannot beat sitting outside in the sun enjoying a cool drink.
Service can be slow but if you are not in a hurry there is time to relax.
We rarely have sat inside, they have a restaurant but I have never eaten in there, only in the pub itself.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanni44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“No atmosphere, boring food”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have looked back through some of the reviews before writing this to see if my experience has been out of kilter. I must say there are a lot of comments about poor service and I would sadly have to concur with this. The staff behind the bar are in the wrong jobs as they do not make visitors welcome. A smile would be great!
I was also sorry to read the owners/managers comments. They do not seem to accept there is a problem and only focus on the positive reviews as being correct. There are a number of negative reviews here and it would be nice to think that the owners respected those and took learning from them.
When we visited the pub recently the bill was incorrect so do check your tab. Some other tab had been added to ours. There is obviously no good system for ensuring accuracy.
The food was bland. I had the fish cakes which were not very fishy, I see another patron had the similar views. My husband's roast was dry. It was expensive for what it was.
There is a lot of brown in the place and I notice others have mentioned there are no soft furnishings, it does make the place feel hollow and noisy.
The drive is difficult particularly if you meet an oncoming vehicle.
The outside garden area is very pretty so if it's good weather, it is nice to be outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BeautifulTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall stay in accomodation and restaurant”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed in Hotels all over the world and have to say this is one of the nicest I have stayed in.

Food is excellent, service is fantastic with Mick and Fiona acting as the perfect hosts with nothing being to much trouble.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thatched Tavern also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to The Thatched Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing