We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I dont feel that old”
Review of Bygones

Bygones
Ranked #6 of 62 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I dont feel that old”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Visited Bygones whilst on holiday at Paignton. A really interesting place the takes you back many years. I don't think anything from sweets to washing powder has been missed, what an interesting collection of memorabilia. How did they get that train in?? Didn't get time to sample the café as we spent too much time looking into every corner and then had to run for the coach.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    813
    325
    90
    19
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Went into shop didn't expect much and partner thought it would be waste of time, when starting to look around it just got more and more interesting, so much to see and look at ,he was amazed and absolutely lved it, if you went around few times you would still see something new , makes you really think and get absorbed by the past, wonderful experience, owners very friendly interestingly explaining how it all started with a steam engine which I stood in,! What a wonderful place , makes up for the shambles museum in newent which I used to love and very sadly closed, anyone thinking of going please do you will not be disappointed

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lodge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“little gem”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Visited this little gem of a place in Babbacombe Torquay while on holiday with Shearings it was part of the weeks tours included in our holiday it was only a small musuem but big on the content it had on offer it was amazing to see all the old and some new pieces and the smells of the sweet shop was lovely they had a sweet little cafe to enjoy a cuppa and the small compact gift shop had all the old toys and gifts from my childhood been looking for an old nursery rhymme book for my little grandson and found it there fantastic it is well worth a visit

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank diamonds30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Back to my childhood”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was a wonderful experience. It was a bit overwhelming when we first entered because there is so much to look at but once we started to look around we found it more and more fascinating. Whatever age you might be, there is something for everyone. There are things we played with as kids and things our parents and grandparents played with or used many moons ago. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flossydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Full of surprises!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The victorian street, steam train, memorbilia from 50's and 60's which reminded me of my childhood. Excellent cream tea.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Welltravelled123-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bygones also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Bygones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing