We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to my childhood”
Review of Bygones

Bygones
Ranked #6 of 63 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Back to my childhood”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was a wonderful experience. It was a bit overwhelming when we first entered because there is so much to look at but once we started to look around we found it more and more fascinating. Whatever age you might be, there is something for everyone. There are things we played with as kids and things our parents and grandparents played with or used many moons ago. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flossydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    325
    90
    19
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Full of surprises!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The victorian street, steam train, memorbilia from 50's and 60's which reminded me of my childhood. Excellent cream tea.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Welltravelled123-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a Tardis”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Fantastic stroll through the past, So much to look at,We were amazed that the inside bore no resemblance to the outside. So many exibits in such a small place including a full size steam loco.
Many photographs on view showing how they managed to fit it in.
All in all a fantastic visit, Well done to all.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BaznDi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous treasure trove”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

An amazing treasure trove. We took our two small daughters and they were so mesmerized by it all they didn't want to leave. Great cafe, delicious lemon sponge! Staff/owners all delightful (it's run by two generations of one family). A great thing to do on a wet day.... or a dry one for that matter.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

£25 for a family. Victorian street & Victorian house rooms with smells, victorian penny machines, military displays plus more

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KingCharlesI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bygones also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Bygones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing