We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting collections”
Review of Bygones

Bygones
Ranked #6 of 62 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting collections”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We visited in May, basically to kill time on a not-so-nice day. It has a vast collection of all sorts of stuff from many different eras, and some of that brought back distant memories. A few of the displays don't really represent what I'd call bygone days but, nonetheless, it was interesting overall.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    822
    329
    91
    19
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a great find on a rainy day”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Visited Bygones on a wet and windy October day, thinking I could spend a few hours here killing time.
However what a pleasant surprise, it was like stepping back in time. The museum is packed full of memorabilia.
It bought back memories of how things were, and although it has a Victorian Street recreated on its ground floor, you could also see things from other decades on the first and second floors.
A very pleasant visit, would recommend it but only if you can manage the stairs as there is no lift.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Overpriced and a little disappointing”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I can see a lot of effort has gone into setting this up, and the owners obviously have a lot of passion for this collection. But some parts are awful.

Considering that some of the displays contain pictures of their daughters wedding (bizarre) and framed jigsaws of trains (even modern ones), it seems that they've failed at what they've tried to achieve in some areas.

The Victorian street was ok. A little cramped and difficult to see everything, but it was fine. I expected to be given facts or interesting stories relating to the time but got nothing.

The WW1 trench is ok, but doesn't actually tell you much about the war.

Bygones is a very large collection of what the owners find interesting.

At £9 each, it is extremely expensive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank darceyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I loved this place. It's wonderful if you like history or just want the experience of being in another era. There is so much to look at you can spent hours here (we did) and if you are older than 40, you will remember a lot of the items on display. My mother and her friend did. I didn't so much, but still loved it.

Bygones isn't wheelchair accessible but there wouldn't really be space to make it that way. We went on a quietish day, just us and a few other visitors. I can't recommend Bygones enough.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“museum”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

bygone you must go and see its £7.50 to get in well worth the money. it takes you back to the victorian times and it lets you see how they lived and what they used, also has a gift shop, and a cafe where you can get meals or a cuppa n snacks or home baking. my friends and I loved it and it was an eye opener, and the bus service is every 12 mins

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank maureen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bygones also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Bygones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing