We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting - good for a rainy day”
Review of Bygones

Bygones
Ranked #6 of 63 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very interesting - good for a rainy day”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

My seven year old found this interesting, my three year old didn't really get it and was a bit scared of the 'dolls'. She did however love the miniature model train sets, fairground etc on the third floor. If you have little ones be aware of the gruesome dentist on the second floor! Good little gift shop too, staff very friendly. Save for a rainy day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RosieBeaandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    844
    340
    94
    20
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wilts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great and interesting place girls were realy interestedl”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

All of it except the stairs but that is a personel issue good place to see. Our girls were really interested in how things were when we were children. Loved the surprise of the toilet ?? such a surprise for them. The exhibits were very good and authentic brought back so many memories for us and we were able to explain everything to the girls.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiddieWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic step back in time”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Bygones is an amazing place to take a peek at days gone by. The huge array of packages and memoribilia is amazing and I spent absolutely ages looking into 'shop' windows stating 'I remember that' when seeing a familiar package !.As you enter the attraction and turn left, there is a shed which contains an hilarious surprise, so make sure you look for this! Located over 2 floors, it is literally crammed with the sights and sounds of a bygone era. I felt Bygones represented great value for money and recommend this attraction to everyone I know !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DawnTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A cool step back in time”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My 11 year old daughter loved this disproportionately and has argued me up on this review! I felt it was a little expensive for what ended up being only an hour really.
The displays are very well done and incredibly authentic, smells and sounds were great and gave a good feel for Victorian times. If I were suggesting improvements it would be to have the ability to buy old money and use this to pay for sweets in the sweet shop and replica items in the grocers.
The two floors are very interesting but the change of content as you go up to the third is a little random. It becomes old toys, model railway trains and World War One!

The staff were lovely and very authentic in their dress and attitude!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tuckumbo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visiting Bygones”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A great selection of memorabilia from Victorian times to the late 60s. They are discounts for disabled people, but if you use a wheelchair or walking free then you are limited to less than one third of the display.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PHILL280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bygones also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Bygones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing