We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In House Steam Engine”
Review of Bygones

Bygones
Ranked #6 of 63 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“In House Steam Engine”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

So much to see from the mid 20th century and a nice cafe. There are displays aimed at children but the amount of material on display is immense. I spent a good couple of hours in there, liked getting on the footplate of a real steam train

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank attwe_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    320
    85
    17
    17
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
usk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“little gem”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wonderful place very clever the lay out and set up was worried it was going to be boring but far from it the staff were very helpful highly recomended .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank stuart s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fareham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“go and visit you wont regret it”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I took my family of 5 for the day in February half term. I have to say what a fantastic place this is and WELL WORTH the money, a safe place to let the children go and wonder. there was fun things for the children to do, and so much to see and reminise. The staff were so helpful and attentive and being a family run business it shows. after we finished we went to the tea room on the top floor of 3 where we had food and drink again at a resonable price. i am so glad that we went concidering i thought this would be a run of the mill museaum. which this is really not. I have a broken back and i could walk around as there were stops. i dont think it would be a place for wheel chairs as i beleive there is no lift. due to the age of the building. However Thanks for a great day .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank graeme r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
746 reviews
330 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family run museum”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Great value with forces discount. Warm and friendly and very well presented. Interesting from start to finish, this place is a 'Tardis' it's huge inside. The military side was my favourite part with the masses of medals, badges and guns. 5 star!

Helpful?
2 Thank Brattyhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our trip to Bygones, the owners have put a ln a lot of work into recreating a Victorian village withs and houses the 1st world war trench is good too. good value for money.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bygones also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Bygones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing