We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super little cafe/bar”
Review of Different Corners Lounge - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Different Corners Lounge
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super little cafe/bar”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

It's not easy to get a proper coffee in Torquay, it tends to be awfully weak, but I was really impressed with the coffee here and the service was excellent and friendly. The clientele are clearly regulars and the proprietor is charming. I didn't eat but I will go back as I was impressed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassava_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“After 5 years away still excellent”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Used to visit this restaurant regularly, 5 years ago, when I lived in Torbay. Thought it might have gone down hill, but how wrong I was! The owner was still welcoming, friendly and helpful. I had the bacon and brie baguette which was beautifully prepared and presented and great value. The coffee was wonderful and I was offered several top ups. Unfortunately,due to time constraints I couln't return for a breakfast which I remember to be as good as any I have sampled. I'll certainly be re-visiting on further trips to Devon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

we have been here twice to have breakfast. Service is great, coffee very good. The breakfast is excellent, no grease, nicely presented and decent sausages! This is a tiny place but spotlessly clean and nicely hidden away so you need to know about it to go there. definately worth giving the breakfast a go, may be slightly more expensive than some of the regular breakfast places but worth the extra. If I had one suggestion to make it would be to consider they may use different bread for the toast - nothing wrong with it but possibly slightly thicker or home made bread

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

An imaginative menu, great food, great service, good price. If you want breakfast in Torquay go here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sinope1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Truly a Tiny Jewel in Torquay's Crown”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Charming in every respect.Small and Inviting. The owner will brighten the dullest day ! Always welcoming, helpful, polite and very French. The food and presentation never fail to please, and its no surprise that with so many regular customers its advisible to call ahead. ( I have rather "SHOT MYSELF IN THE FOOT" by recommending friends who have now become regulars) Food and service of this calibre and at reasonable prices is so very hard to find ! Long may it continue.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AMickyfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Different Corners Lounge also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing