We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luvly - watch out for car park charges!”
Review of Babbacombe

Babbacombe
Ranked #4 of 63 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Luvly - watch out for car park charges!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I went to Babbacombe - we enjoyed the scenery and were told a story about the house that collapsed in the cliff fall recently. However, we visited the Model Village, parked directly outside, when we came out there were 5 different people including ourselves who had a parking ticket. Also parking was excessive everywhere in Babbacombe (in my opinion).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    342
    57
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Going downhill...”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This beach has gone massively downhill! It needs a good revamp and a tidy up. I understand that nature has taken its toll and the storms have done some of the damage, but the buildings that were all boarded up just looked shabby. Part of the beach is currently closed off as there was a landslide. There is also scaffolding up in places. The cliff railway is still running and is worth a go, reasonably priced and nice to do if you have walked down to the beach, saves you walking back up the steep path. You currently cannot walk along to the other beach as the cliff path is closed off.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dingbat1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tea Room”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Walked to Babbacombe. Not far, about 3 miles. Babbacombe probably beautiful in the summer. Unfortunately, we experienced hale stones and rain. Very quiet, not many shops

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very nice little town would definitely comeback lots of things to see and old shops . The view from the cliff and attractions in this small town would really be a good day out . The model village , the railway cafe and railway cliff , the shops the churches, the secret garden or tessier garden was lovely first time I have heard about an adult only garden.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rosievil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Me and my partner love coming here. Amazing scones, my favourite is the white chic ones. Lovely setting, fantastic staff, we can't wait to come again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lawrence1584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babbacombe also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Babbacombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing