We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chris and peter happy guests”
Review of Corbyn Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corbyn Head Hotel
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“chris and peter happy guests”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Corby head hotel brilliant warm welcome our fifth visit great friendly staff Antony Angie Alison and all the rest are all great The sea view bedrooms are clean and welcoming and the views are something special The food in the restaurant and the welcoming bar is superb The entertainment is first class and everything is done to make your holiday first class

Room Tip: any sea view roo
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 960Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    127
    56
    37
    32
See reviews for
79
248
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Arrived, parked up and checked in without any problems at all. The receptionist was warm, friendly and very helpful. our room (29) was pleasant enough with a view across the road to the sea. We had a drink in the bar, and again staff were warm and welcoming. Slept well and breakfast the following morning was good.

Pros: Really nice staff
cons: all a bit 'old-fashioned' no lift, bathroom very small.

all in all not a bad place to stay, clean and tidy but overdue a modern facelift.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudge382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARWEN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Once again we have had a wonderful holiday at Corbyn Head. The two receptionists, Angie and Donna also Alison in the bar and coffee lounge made us feel so welcome and were friendly without being pushy. Three lovely people. The staff in the restaurant were welcoming and efficient. The meals suburb. The wonderful weather helped to make the holiday even more enjoyable. The room we had had had a face lift since last year so that was a nice addition to the the holiday experience.
The reviewers who pull the hotel to pieces need to think before they criticise the Hotel. All rooms cannot be large and have sea views. If they don't like the noise of traffic they shouldn't choose a hotel with a busy road running in front. DON'T BLAME THE HOTEL FOR ITS POSITION. As for cleanliness our room was well serviced and I cannot think there is different levels of service for each type of room. I don't give full stars for quality of sleep but that is no bad reflection on the Hotel. The weather was hot so of course it was going to be hot in the bedrooms and I don't sleep well anyway so it was no fault of the Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have been enjoying the annual Mother's Day lunch at the Corbyn Head for a few years but have never stayed at the hotel. As a treat for my mum we stayed there for two nights.

It has to be said that the hotel is a little shabby and would benefit from a refresh. It's surprising there is no lift, as many of the guests are elderly. There is no air conditioning.

What really makes the hotel is its good, old-fashioned service and hospitality. The restaurant is excellent: classic dishes cooked very well. The traditional breakfast for example is cooked to order, arrives on a hot plate and every ingredient is cooked perfectly. So much better than the big hotels where guests help themselves to congealing bacon and scrambled eggs in the buffet. We were lucky enough to get a table by the window: ask when you book.

Our room was at the back and it is very close to the train line but we didn't find the train sounds off putting.

It was easy to park and Torbay has such a wonderful bus service we didn't use the car until we left.

The food and service was so good that it overshadows the small nits around shabbiness. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the back if you will find the sound of trains off putting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyacinth_bucket2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed recently with a group of walkers. The hotel - staff, accommodation, and catering were excellent. I would certainly recommend the hotel for anyone wishing to holiday in this beautifujl part of the UK.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed here recently whilst walking in devon with the ramblers. Fantastic hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. I had a room with a huge terrace and view of the sea, it was wonderful. The food in the restaurant is better than I've had in top london restaurants, they have a fantastic chef who has been there several years.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 450Rosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our trip to the Corbyn Head. As an experience, the hotel has been careful to retain the feel of English hotels from 50 years ago. The staff there could not be more polite and helpful. The rooms are well kitted out. Standards for food and drinks are all reasonably high. There was a husband and wife lounge act on the night we were there, who were very entertaining.

We did call ahead for fresh flowers in the room, and no bedspread, which was confirmed but didn't happen. The water pressure in the shower probably isn't what you have at home. Apart from that, it was great fun and I am sure we would return. If you do go, I would definitely recommend visiting Living Coasts, which we greatly enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FasterCyrusKillKill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#50 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#57 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corbyn Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corbyn Head Hotel

Property: Corbyn Head Hotel
Address: Torbay Rd, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Corbyn Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Corbyn Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corbyn Head Torquay
Hotel Corbyn Head
Corbyn Head Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing