We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Of The Best Hotel's I have Ever Stayed In!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Ranked #44 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“One Of The Best Hotel's I have Ever Stayed In!”
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Myself and my other half stayed at The Livermead Cliff Hotel for a Weekend in the middle of september. We had a fantasic time! Food is excellent, Rooms were lovely and Clean, and the Staff are The best i have ever come across for there service, nothing that you ask them is too much, they go out of there way to help you which ever way they can.
During our stay there was a wedding being held in there function room, it looked so lovely, and everyone looked like they were having a great time.
We had no problems with parking during our stay either. We simply asked the manager where we could park where it wasnt going to be a problem for the wedding party. Both the manager and assistant manager were both extremley helpful and friendly. We will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairy088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    205
    121
    61
    46
See reviews for
110
320
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2010

we would highly recommend this hotel. there were fantastic sea views from terrace and lounge windows. the food was excellent with good choice of menu and the staff were smart, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Travelled with fairly large family party , Majority of staff friendly but did have some surly eastern european staff not so friendly.
Decor and surroundings dated and tired well overdue a refit by about 20 years !
Room was average , poor furniture and again tired and needs investment
We stayed 3 nights and every night there was a private function using the hotel
Bar prices we considered high at £ 5.70 per glass of wine but not on its own there I guess
Very much a coach party hotel and this is reflected in the average age of client 65 +
Biggest problem for myself was the food everything pre prepared and old fashioned uninspired dishes , whilst not offensive , why do a 4 course meal badly should concentrate on 3 courses and improve the quality , we were booked for evening meal and to order a steak was a £14.95 supplement !! How do these hotels keep getting away with it , then claim tourists aren`t holidaying in England.
Bar food was better than standard evening meal choices
MUST TRY HARDER Livermead you are way behind others are doing it better
My final gripe is that the Livermead is part of a small group of hotels and the facilities they list on the website are actually at other hotels , sorry but you dont put your trunks on to catch the bus and jump in the jacuzzi down the road anymore ! Check what this actual hotel does have prior to booking.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewkte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Have just returned from 3 nights at the Livermead Cliff. I was slightly concerned after reading some of the reviews on here, but needn't have worried.
The hotel is in a great position right by the sea and it's well worth paying the supplement to get a view out to sea and over the bay to Torquay. Our first floor room also had access to a terrace shared with with 4 other rooms and which was great for sitting out reading the newspapers of having a cup of tea.
The staff are all very attentive and on Saturday morning many of them gathered at the front doors to wave off a coach party that had been stayng there. The people on the coach were all waving back and it was clear to see that they had all had a good time and I think that this sums up the hotel.
It is a bit dated and does have a largely older clientele, but is very welcoming and comfortable. I would be happy to stay there again when in Torquay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HermioneBaglash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2010

had a fantastic birthday with family and friends,staff couldnt have done anymore for us ,we have been staying at the livermead cliff hotel for the past 6 years ,it is such a friendly,comfortable,clean hotel,we never stay anywhere else when going to torquay.thankyou again for making my birthday so special. Look forward to staying with you again soon
.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonsheppard926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Great location, great hotel! It should be noted that it is a wedding party hotel and the other guests get overlooked.
I was travelling with my sister and a friend so we had 3 rooms and 1 car.
On returning from a day out we find the car park overflowing so ask at front desk where are customers suppose to park and are bluntly told, " Down the road" we double parked outside and where approched by a very arrogant manager and told to move.
Tell me, why cant they pay a young inexpensive employee to sit outside ( when wedding partys are scheduled) with a list of PAYING CUSTOMERS ans reserve that amount of parking spaces and tell everyone else to park " DOWN THE ROAD"
Same old story of lets spend as little on overhead and make as much profit as we can.
That only works until the word gets out that you dont look after your PAYING CUSTOMERS.
So on that note, I suggest "Mark" the so called manager should go back to management school and learn the first and most important thing ??? Yes you guesses it
THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS RIGHT AND COMES FIRST !!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indyboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Excellent Staff very helpful couldnt wish for better. Room ok quiet a bit dated but comfortable bed Surrondings really good sito relax or do some workoutside with a great view of the bay and away from all the noise of the town
Great value and would recommend a stay well done again to the staff!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireRoadbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
514 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel

Property: Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Address: Livermead Cliff Hotel Torbay Road | Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermead Cliff Hotel is the only 3 star hotel situated directly on the water's edge. We have direct access to the sea and beach from our spacious lawns. With stunning sea views from many bedrooms and all of the public areas. The town centre and marina are a pleasant level walk along the sea front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HRS, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livermead Cliff Torquay
Hotel Livermead Cliff
Best Western Torquay
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing