We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fanstastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“fanstastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

Loved this hotel!! . My welcome on the saturday morning was so warm and friendly 10 out of 10 for the receptionist and the other staff memebers i came across. Great Location for relaxing and amazing views!
Just want to say congratulations to mark the manager keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queenie1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    201
    115
    60
    44
See reviews for
106
312
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portishead
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

Too hot with bedroom window closed and too noisy (traffic) with it open.
A false fire alarm at 2:00am demonstrated some very concerning issues eg locked escape routes.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greybeard116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

arrived at 7.00pm only room available twin room but costs £100. Room very basic, old fashioned, and noisy as above kitchen. Lift antiquated and did not work properly as inner door would not open on first floor. Went into lounge and that was in also a time warp for the price, who are they kidding.
breakfast not the best seemed like it had been sitting there a couple of hours before been served.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

Pros:
The hotel was generally clean and tidy.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The views were lovely and the outside terrace seemed to have had a refurb - really very pleasant.

Cons:
The decoration is in need of updating - the room felt quite tatty and very dated.
The room was very small - it seemed to us that the sea view rooms (as we had booked) were particularly small.
We had bed and breakfast and the latter was really not very good at all. We both ordered poached egg on toast and what was served was so ridiculous I couldn't stop laughing for hours :). A dry piece of toast with what may have once passed as an egg (a shrivelled, dried up and rubbery ball) placed centrally upon it. Needless to say - inedible. The non-cooked alternatives were branded cereals (fine), yoghurt (fine) and tinned fruit (didn't try).

Overall:
We paid for our stay with Tesco vouchers so don't feel I can complain too much. However, had I paid the full cost I think I would have been quite disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stroudies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

Weekend trip - hotel, room, view etc very good. Restaurant and bar service terrible.
Food was not as described on Menu - some very stange, service poor (for example waiter stood at end of room and called out "who ordered glass of red and glass of white Wine"). Fish not the freshest and overcooked - many more examples, including a barman who could not understand what I meant by 'sparkling wine'.

Can't fault hotel itself but don't eat there.

Also noise from private party disco was far too loud in Seaview Rooms and no onsite parking as all taken

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BirthdayBoy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

Friendly welcome at reception, the bar and at breakfast, with all the staff eager to help.

Our room had a clear view across the bay to large ships on the horizon or to Torquay on our left. The hotel building itself is not pretty to look at but views from the bar, restaurant, terrace and I guess most of the bedrooms are very nice. Sunrise is above the centre of the town at about 5.15 in June, looks nice glinting on the water.

Torquay harbour and shops are a brisk 20 minute walk along the main road and beach promenade, around the bay - saves parking the car in the town. The hotel is a couple of miles from Cockington village (with "chocolate box cottages") and Paignton.

We saw children and dogs splashing in the water in front of the hotel - a circular area sheltered by small rounded rocks - also a few people launching kayaks.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

After an appalling visit to another hotel in Torquay, my Husband, myself and our Mums
(95 & 84) walked out in disgust. However, we were extremely fortunate to walk into the Livermead Cliff Hotel, be met by a lovely lady called Carole who worked her magic and found us really great accommodation allowing us to give our Mums their holiday. We had a fab 5 days and will definately be going back. Rooms were excellent, food really delicious and the staff made us feel like royalty. We were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaygar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#50 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#53 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Address: Livermead Cliff Hotel Torbay Road | Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermead Cliff Hotel is the only 3 star hotel situated directly on the water's edge. We have direct access to the sea and beach from our spacious lawns. With stunning sea views from many bedrooms and all of the public areas. The town centre and marina are a pleasant level walk along the sea front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livermead Cliff Torquay
Hotel Livermead Cliff
Best Western Torquay
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing