We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed March 31, 2010

My parents and I have been coming to the Livermead Cliff for many years now and every single time we have been there has been top class. One of the main aspects of the hotel that we love is the friendly staff who genuinely make our holiday enjoyable and memorable - this is not something that you can always rely on in every hotel but at the Livermead Cliff it is something we now take for granted! Nothing is too much trouble and we relax the minute we arrive for this very reason. The minute we walk through the main door the staff at reception and the managers make us feel welcome and the diningroom is a warm and happy place that makes for a wonderful dining experience. We usually stay for two weeks and the service we receive is consistently excellent. The food is superb (in fact, we find ourselves wondering what will be for dinner quite early in the day when we are out sightseeing!) and the view from the hotel is probably the best in Torquay because it takes in the whole of the bay. The rooms are always very clean (as is the rest of the hotel). We have witnessed some beautiful weddings here too and for people who live closer than we do it would be a wonderful wedding venue becuase of the situation of the hotel, the food and the service. The Livermead Cliff has recently had a new sun terrace added with a new conference facility too, and the terrace is a beautiful place to sit and have a drink and look out to sea.

The reason we keep coming back, year in year out, is down to the simple fact that we would not swap this hotel experience for anything and I think that that is mainly due to the staff who aren't just competent, but are dependable and genuinely good people. Each time we visit we recognise other regular hotel patrons who obvioulsy keep coming back for the same reason as we do and we have got to know some of these people - I think it is a testament to the Livermead Cliff's appeal that people return to stay as often as they do and we look forward to our next visit.
Emma Dymock

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDymock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 697 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2010

The views are undoubtedly gorgeous - and that is clearly what you are paying for at this hotel. Apart from that the room was dreadful. I work in the hotel industry and there are certain standards which when charging £90 a night you would expect. Having said that the room was clean - but the standard of fixtures. fittings, linen etc was no better than an average Bed and Breakfast.
The staff were the main thing that stuck out. Rude and unhelpful to sum it up. Even getting stuck in the 1920'2s lift which to be honest should not be in use now did not seem to bother them that much. I could go on and list in detail numerous faults - but in summary I think that the hospitality industry can often get away with far too much and charge the earth for it. Apart from the views - I would not reccommend this hotel - they certainly need to reduce their prices or spend a considerable amount of money on the place to justify the cost. Staffing issues unfortunately no amount of refurbishment can sort out......

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRINCESSPOWELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

We had a great Christmas. All the Staff were helpful and pleasant. The food was excellent, you could, practically, be eating all day! It's the little touches which mean a lot - home made chocolates in an homemade box in our room. Good quality toilet tissue in all toilets, not just your room. Free WiFi. Our room had a seating area which was very welcome and the bed was extremely comfy. Just a note, not just about the Livermead Cliff, if hotels had more reasonably priced wines and drinks they would sell more!

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnePaulCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Never stayed at this hotel for a christmas break,however within the first 30 minutes we would have been prepared to re book for 2010.(if we didnt have different plans).
The staff were incredibly attentive and the accomadation met with all our expectations,the food was first class and a big thankyou to Tim the chef who is extremely talented with his menu's and delivery.
Mark the general manager is a credit to his staff,the clenliness was excellent,
Thank you Livermead Cliff for a wonderful Christmas break.See you soon.
Andy and John.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank ANGREEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

As the hostsof our daughters wedding the Livermead Cliff Hotel was the perfect setting with beautiful rooms and lovely views over the sea and coasline of Torquay, they really did pull out al the stops to make the day memorable for all of us.
Held in the newly built Riviera Suite we were served the tastiest Venison and Chicken at the Wedding Breakfast. Their Chef Tim produced a wonderful four course meal and later at the maskarade ball exquisite orderve's and an excellent Rustic Buffet.
Led by the Hotels restaurant manager Kiel the waiters and waitresses were smart. freindly and efficiant as they served at table.
On a personal level the calm manner of Mark the Hotel Manager and Wedding Organiser helped to make a slightly flustered mother of the brides job flawless and ensured that the days event ran without a hitch.
The Hotel staff worked as a team and with their friendly attitude made us feel at home .
Everyone of our guests that stayed at the Livermead Cliff were extremely impressed with the Hotel. the delicious food and the service given.
Our stay was memorable and the Hotel's excellent service made it a very Happy one.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ButterflyCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We have just had our Turkey & Tinsel break at this hotel and we found it to be really wonderful. The food was superb with a wonderful variety every evening. breakfasts also a good variety. Rooms were comfortable clean and warm some had wonderful views over the bay. The staff were very friendly and helpul any problems were dealt with at once.
We would have liked an apperance of Father Christmas and a little more effort for the new year evening but all in all it really was excellent. We really hope to go back there soon. The only other thing I would say is we felt the drinks were rather expensive I know hotels do usually charge more but when they have a group of 80+ people in they would sell a lot more if they were just a touch less expensive. That said we were very happy with everything else about it

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DudleyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Livermead Cliff Hotel. The staff were wonderful, very friendly and efficient. The food was amazing with a varied menu every night. Some of the bedrooms are "tired" but clean and warm. The views across the bay are great stunning, we will return.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#60 of 87 in Torquay
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#47 of 87 in Torquay
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,957 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
881 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel

Address: Livermead Cliff Hotel Torbay Road | Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $107 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermead Cliff Hotel is the only 3 star hotel situated directly on the water's edge. We have direct access to the sea and beach from our spacious lawns. With stunning sea views from many bedrooms and all of the public areas. The town centre and marina are a pleasant level walk along the sea front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livermead Cliff Torquay
Hotel Livermead Cliff
Best Western Torquay
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing