We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“First time stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Easy to find, on shore beside main road; good access and parking. Hotel has obviously been built in several stages. Good-value restaurant with well-cooked and -presented food and decent wine list; very good service; comfortable lounge and bar areas. Nice terraces and gardens directly overlooking bay Bedroom decor "tired" but room very comfortable with good-size en-suite. Extremely helpful, pleasant staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    201
    115
    60
    44
See reviews for
106
312
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have a family member living in Torquay and visit two or three times a year. Livermead Cliff is always my first choice of hotel to stay while in Torquay. The hotel compares very favourably with others in the town for comfort, value for money and friendliness of staff. There have been a number of improvements in the décor of bedrooms over the past year and the room I stayed in recently was nicely furnished, bright, warm and clean. The bed was spotless and comfortable. I really appreciated the level of artificial lighting available in the room which meant that I could read without straining my eyes. ( Not always the case in hotel bedrooms, I have found !) The bathroom was well equipped and spotlessly clean. I usually eat in the restaurant and again I have always found that the quality and presentation of meals compare well with local restaurants. Meals are excellent value, especially if you stay on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. I have always found staff helpful, friendly and polite. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay this hotel is ideal. In addition the hotel is situated on the level, right by the sea and has wonderful views over Torbay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea are quieter and have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I really wanted to dislike this hotel after reading reviews of the sheets and blankets, and the avocado bathroom suites.....however when my elderly mother and I checked in we were given a room for 3 - double bed and 2 singles, all made up with crisp white duvets. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was also white and looked new and clean. Given the average demographic for this hotel I am very surprised that they do not provide walk in showers instead of a shower over the bath. The bath side was too high for my mother to attempt, so consequently she could not bathe properly for the 2 days.
Hotel kept very hot, presumably for the demographic. It was strangely fully decorated for Christmas, given that this was the first week of November, but it appears that it caters to the coach party trade of people wanting Turkey and Tinsel tours, irrespective of the time of year. All staff were friendly with the exception of the girl behind the bar who was rather rude. Old fashioned décor, heavy gold brocade, and the manager very visible in his tail coat.
The dinner in the dining room was also better than I expected, with a good choice, but quite expensive if you are not on a DBB deal.
Talking of prices we called the hotel direct to book the room and were quoted £88pppn which would have been £353 but on a well known hotel booking website we got the 2 nights for £142.Go figure as the Americans would stay.
Full English breakfast was very good. Plenty of parking. Wonderful views. And the unexpected bonus of free wifi!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yelverton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hotel is just like Torbay itself is tired,dated and expensive for what it is.Our bedroom like most of the hotel has seen better days,the staff could all be much moor attentive and pleasant towards guests.The meals are of poor quality particularly so the breakfasts.Drinks in the hotel are very expensive for the standard of hotel it is.Other than the function room I find little to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggjsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our annual long-weekend Winter golf/shopping break in November 2013 and had a wonderful stress-free time. The hotel is spotlessly clean, warm and the beds are really comfortable. All the staff, without exception, were polite, helpful and very friendly. The breakfast is the best we have had and the bar meals are excellent value. We didn't use the restaurant in the evenings because we happened across an excellent Carvery at the Royal pub in Babbacombe.

Our room (27) had a fantastic sea view and was probably classed as a family room - we could choose which bed we wanted to sleep in each night! I assume we were upgraded due to Best Western membership. However, on arrival we noticed the room was extremely cold and found the radiator wasn't working. After a trip to Reception a heater was placed in the room for that night and the radiator was repaired the next day. Excellent service, but these things should be checked before the room is used. Also, the shower was pretty poor - had a hard job getting the shampoo out of my hair as the water pressure was weak.

The hotel is all that we expected from Best Western - in need of re-decorating but always welcoming and comfortable. Would definitely recommend for a long weekend Winter break but I should imagine it is very good in Summer too.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room - it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

My Group of 41 people mixed ages, spent a lovely 5days break (early Christmas) 4th November-8th Nov 2013. The hotel was really comfortable and very pleasant Bedrooms very spacious. and comfortable. Plumbing needs sorting out in some of the rooms. problems getting hot water to come through, (15mins-20mins). The Food was excellent, plenty of choice and presentation was also very good. Staff very attentive and didn't rush you to finish, the service at Bar and Restaurant / Reception very attentive and very helpful. Management great. Yes I would go back for another stay. It was lovely to see all the staff and management standing out in the rain waving their good byes to us, and the Chef coming to say goodbye also., Would have No hesitation recommending the hotel, to Groups and other visitors,

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking sea and gardens, very good. rooms on front also good, Room 29 Great bedroom but on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trowbridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights, and could not find any fault, with this excellent hotel, the staff and service , and food, are far above its 3 star rating, real value for money, particularly as we had a huge sea facihg room (no 76), will find time to go back

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eric c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#50 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#53 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Address: Livermead Cliff Hotel Torbay Road | Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Livermead Cliff Hotel is the only 3 star hotel situated directly on the water's edge. We have direct access to the sea and beach from our spacious lawns. With stunning sea views from many bedrooms and all of the public areas. The town centre and marina are a pleasant level walk along the sea front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livermead Cliff Torquay
Hotel Livermead Cliff
Best Western Torquay
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing